Fleetwood Mac Debuts New Lineup on 'Ellen'

By Katrina Nattress

September 5, 2018

Fleetwood Mac hardly ever plays on national television, but even Stevie Nicks and company will make an exception for Ellen DeGeneres. 

On Wednesday (September 5), the band debuted its new Lindsey Buckingham-less lineup on The Ellen DeGeneres Show and played flawless performances of the Rumours hit "The Chain" and Mirage single "Gypsy," the former showcasing new member Neil Finn's (Crowded House, Split Enz) vocal prowess. The new lineup also features Mike Campbell of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers fame on lead guitar.

In standard Ellen fashion, the talk show host surprised the audience with tickets to Fleetwood Mac's upcoming show at L.A.'s Forum. 

Watch both performances (and Ellen's surprise) below.

Drummer and band leader Mick Fleetwood confirmed Buckingham's dismissal in April and later admitted the band just wasn't happy together anymore.

"We all wish him well and all the rest of it," he said. "In truthful language, we just weren't happy. And I'll leave it at that in terms of the dynamic. And he's going out on the road more or less that same time, I think — not in the same places, I hope!" 

Fleetwood Mac hits the road on October 3 to embark on a massive North American tour. Coincidentally, Buckingham also recently announced a solo tour that happens to overlap with the first part of his former band's schedule. Thankfully, his dates begin on the West Coast while Fleetwood Mac begins in the Midwest.

Before beginning the tour, Fleetwood Mac is set to heat up Vegas as an iHeartRadio Music Festival headliner. 

Photo: YouTube

Chat About Fleetwood Mac Debuts New Lineup on 'Ellen'