Listen to Country Road Radio on iHeartRadio

Country Road Radio

Carrie Underwood, Toby Keith, and Rascal Flatts are getting new recognition from the Academy of Country Music.  They're among the stars who'll be celebrated Tuesday at the 8th annual ACM Honors. 

The event pays tribute to special award recipients and the non-televised winners from last spring's ACM Awards.  Carrie will accept the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award, while Rascal Flatts is one of the recipients of the Jim Reeves International Award, acknowledging what they've done to promote country music outside the U.S. 

Toby Keith has been tapped for the Career Achievement Award, along with Ronnie Milsap.  Some of the other honorees include Merle Haggard, Kris Kristofferson, and Buck Owens

Jake Owen is on board to host the ceremony.  He's also one of the many stars slated to perform at the event.  The extensive lineup also features Dierks Bentley, Kacey Musgraves, and Hunter Hayes, while Kenny Chesney, Thomas Rhett, and The Swon Brothers are just a few of the presenters for the gala, taking place at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. 

Select Academy of Country Music Special Award Winners 

Career Achievement Award - Toby Keith and Ronnie Milsap 

Gene Weed Special Achievement Award - Carrie Underwood 

Crystal Milestone Award (recognizing career accomplishments) - Merle Haggard 

Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award (recognizing pioneers in country music) - Bob Beckham 

Jim Reeves International Award (promoting country music outside the U.S.) - Rascal Flatts and Opry Entertainment Group President Steve Buchanan 

Poet's Award (for songwriting) - Jack Clement, Dean Dillon, Kris Kristofferson, and Buck Owens 

Mae Boren Axton Award (recognizing years of dedication and service by an individual to the Academy of Country Music) - William Morris agency's Nashville head Paul Moore 

Songwriter of the Year - Shane McAnally 

Photo: Getty Images