Denny Hamlin inched past Martin Truex Jr. to win the Daytona 500 for the first time in his career. It was the closest win in the history of the "The Great American Race". With Matt Kenseth leading in the final lap Hamlin made a late move, bumping him as he surged toward the finish line. The bump sent Kenseth back allowing Truex Jr. and Hamlin to move to the front of the pack where they battled, and bumped their way to the finish line. The win gives Toyota its first Daytona 500 victory and owner Joe Gibbs his first win in Daytona since 1993.

Kyle Busch came in third, followed by Kevin Harvick and Carl Edwards.  Defending Daytona 500 champion Joey Logano finished sixth.  Kyle Larson, Regan Smith, Austin Dillon and Kurt Busch rounded out the top-10.