Listen to '90s College Rock Radio on iHeartRadio

Sports Anthems Radio

Ohio State won the first-ever College Football Playoff by defeating Oregon, 42-20, in the national championship game at AT&T Stadium in Arlington.  The Buckeyes were able to overcome four turnovers behind a tremendous run attack.  Ezekiel Elliot led the way, running for 246 yards and four touchdowns on 36 carries.  Third-string quarterback Cardale Jones added another TD on the ground plus threw for one with 242 yards.  Ohio State finished the season with a 14-and-1 record.

Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota tossed for 333 yards and two touchdowns in the loss.  Byron Marshall hauled in eight catches for 169 yards and hit pay dirt on a 70-yard score.  The Ducks closed the game to 21-20 in the third quarter before allowing Ohio State to score 21 unanswered points.  Oregon closed the year 13-and-2.  

PHOTO: Getty Images