tom petty

Nominations for the Songwriters Hall of Fame have been announced, and the contenders include Tom Petty and John Mellencamp, as well as Jeff Lynne, Steve Miller, Michael McDonald and Debbie Harry and Chris Stein of Blondie. They're all on the ballot as Performing Songwriters.

There's also a nonperforming category and one for deceased songwriters. That all-star group includes Jimi Hendrix, George Harrison and Marvin Gaye.

In a change from previous years, voters are being asked to select two performers, three non-performers and one deceased writer. The winners will be announced early next year. The Class of 2016 will be inducted at the Hall's annual gala June 9th in New York.

Photos: Getty Images