All Episodes

May 10, 2019 41 min
You don’t need passion to start a business, but you do need it to keep one going for a quarter century. Life-long entrepreneur Jack Epstein of Chocolate Covered sells over a thousand artisan chocolates from his store in the Noe Valley neighborhood of San Francisco. Learn how Jack built his unique business, and hear valuable advice from a shopkeeper who’s been in business for 25 years. Plus, Jack shares dozens of chocolate and San Francisco restaurant recommendations! Links and Show Notes Ocean Front Walkers (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ocean-Front-Walkers/155581997815782) Liberal arts education - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberal_arts_education) Tai chi - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tai_chi) Tai chi: A gentle way to fight stress - Mayo Clinic (https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/stress-management/in-depth/tai-chi/art-20045184) Bar and Bat Mitzvah - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bar_and_Bat_Mitzvah) Bodysurfing - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bodysurfing) “health benefits of cacao” - Google Search (https://www.google.com/search?q=health+benefits+of+cacao) Black and White cookies (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_and_white_cookie) Black and White Cookies Recipe (https://www.browneyedbaker.com/black-and-white-cookies-recipe/) All 25 Oreos Flavors, Ranked, Tested and Reviewed - Best Oreo Flavors (https://www.delish.com/food-news/g26783387/best-oreo-flavors/) Oreo | Home (https://www.oreo.com/) “Ice Cold Milk and an Oreo Cookie” (https://www.theretrosite.com/ice-cold-milk-and-an-oreo-cookie_e4232085f.html) commercial Cyanotype - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyanotype) Cyanotypes - Super Easy Photo Prints at Home.: 6 Steps (with Pictures) (https://www.instructables.com/id/Cyanotypes---super-easy-photo-prints-at-home./) Cocoa bean - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cocoa_bean#Varieties) The Different Varieties of Cocoa Beans: Criollo, Trinitario & Foraster – The Chocolate Society (https://www.chocolate.co.uk/blogs/news/the-different-varieties-of-cocoa-beans-criollo-trinitario-and-forastero) Terroir - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terroir) — “Some artisanal crops for which terroir is studied include wine, coffee, tobacco, chocolate, chili peppers, hops, agave (for making tequila and mezcal), tomatoes, heritage wheat, maple syrup, tea, and cannabis.” Chuao, Venuzuela - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chuao) Rare Cacao Beans Discovered in Peru - The New York Times (https://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/12/dining/12chocolate.html) “Two Buck Chuck” Charles Shaw wine - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Shaw_wine) Mouton Cadet - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mouton_Cadet) White chocolate - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_chocolate) Chocolate tempering machine (Amazon.com) (https://amzn.to/2WsCuha) Chocolates & Chocolatiers Dandelion Chocolate (https://www.dandelionchocolate.com/) Michael Mischer (http://www.michaelmischerchocolates.com/) L’Amourette Chocolatier (http://www.lamourettechocolat.com/) NeoCocoa (https://neococoastore.com/) Jade Chocolates (https://www.jadechocolates.com/) 9th & Larkin (https://www.9thandlarkin.com/) Maison Bouche (https://maison-bouche.myshopify.com/) Poco Dolce Chocolates (https://pocodolce.com/) Charles Chocolate (https://www.charleschocolates.com/) Feve Chocolates (https://fevechocolates.com/collections/truffles) Valrhona Le Noir Amer 71% Cacao Dark Bittersweet Chocolate (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00DHTF71I/lettucewrap-20) (Amazon) Chile Pistachio Chocolate (https://www.senormurphy.com/store/detail/chocolate_bars/chile_pistachio_chocolate_bars_3_pack) from Señor Murphy's (https://www.senormurphy.com/) Shrimp & Bonito Dark Chocolate (https://www.fossachocolate.com/shop/shrimpbonito) from Fossa Chocolate (https://www.fossachocolate.com/) KitKat (https://www.kitkat.com/) Mounds (https://www.hersheys.com/almondjoy-mounds/en_us/products/mounds-candy-bar.html) Nestlé Milk Chocolate - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nestl%C3%A9_Milk_Chocolate) Hershey’s Chocolate & Candy (https://www.hersheys.com/en_us/home.html) Scharffen Berger (https://www.scharffenberger.com/en_us/home.html) Dagoba (https://www.dagobachocolate.com/en_us/home.html) Joseph Schmidt Confections - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Schmidt_Confections) Joseph Schmidt chocolates will be missed - SFGate (https://www.sfgate.com/business/article/Joseph-Schmidt-chocolates-will-be-missed-3164996.php) Cadbury Chocolate (https://www.cadbury.co.uk/) Amedei Porcelana (https://www.amedei.it/it/prodotto2/5927/QPALVXTM/porcelana-(limited)) Lindt Chocolate World (https://www.chocolate.lindt.com/) Ghirardelli Chocolate Company (https://www.ghirardelli.com/) Stone Grindz (https://www.stonegrindz.com/) Hogarth Chocolate (https://www.hogarthchocolate.co.nz/wp/author/webeditor-karl/) Lattenero Chocolate Bar by Slitti (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0084B8NB0/lettucewrap-20) (Amazon) Cioccolato Slitti – Gran Bouquet Caffè Latte (https://www.slittishop.it/prodotti/dettaglio-prodotto.asp?id=34&Prodotto=Gran%20Bouquet%20Caff%C3%A8%20Latte%20-%20100g) Kopper’s Chocolate (https://kopperschocolate.com/) San Francisco Restaurants & Locations Noe Valley, San Francisco - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noe_Valley,_San_Francisco) TheEndUpSF.com – San Francisco’s Legendary Indoor/Outdoor Nightclub (https://theendupsf.com/) Zuni Café (https://zunicafe.com/) Griddle Fresh/Aha Fresh (http://griddlefreshsf.com/) Toast Eatery (http://www.toasteatery.com/) NoVY (https://www.novysf.com/) Patxi’s (https://patxispizza.com/) Hamano Sushi (https://www.hamanosushi.com/) Barney’s Gourmet Hamburgers (http://www.barneyshamburgers.com/) Thai Cafe (http://www.thaicafesf.com/) Lands End - Golden Gate National Recreation Area (U.S. National Park Service) (https://www.nps.gov/goga/planyourvisit/landsend.htm) Stow Lake Boathouse - San Francisco (https://stowlakeboathouse.com/) Crissy Field Center | Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy (https://www.parksconservancy.org/programs/crissy-field-center) North Beach — San Francisco Travel (https://www.sfgate.com/neighborhoods/sf/northbeach/) Golden Boy Pizza (http://goldenboypizza.com/) Tony’s Pizza Napoletana (https://tonyspizzanapoletana.com/) Sunrise Deli (https://www.sunrisedelisf.com/) Ferry Building Marketplace (https://www.ferrybuildingmarketplace.com/) The Embarcadero, SF. — Highlights to check out | hiddenSF.com (http://www.hiddensf.com/106-the-embarcadero-san-francisco.html) Ultra Rainbow Ice Cream (https://www.doublerainbow.com/) Toy Boat Dessert Cafe (https://www.facebook.com/toyboatdessertcafe/) Noe Valley Bakery (https://noevalleybakery.com/) Our thanks to Jack for joining us. You can find Chocolate Covered at 4069 24th Street, between Noe and Castro in San Francisco, CA, on Twitter @ChocoCoveredSF (https://twitter.com/ChocoCoveredSF), and at http://www.chocolatecoveredsf.com. Thank you for listening. You can follow us on Twitter: Lettuce Wrap (@lettucewrappod (https://twitter.com/lettucewrappod)) Christine Doerr (@christinedoerr (https://twitter.com/christinedoerr)) Tammy Tan (@spicehound (http://twitter.com/spicehound)) or email us at lettucerwrappod@gmail.com (mailto:lettucerwrappod@gmail.com). That’s a wrap! Amazon (https://amzn.to/2DBzg5j) and other links may be affiliates. Purchases help support the show. Special Guest: Jack Epstein, Chocolate Covered.
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About Lettuce Wrap

Advertise With Us

Popular Podcasts

Crime Junkie
The Breakfast Club

The Breakfast Club

The World's Most Dangerous Morning Show, The Breakfast Club, With DJ Envy, Angela Yee And Charlamagne Tha God!

The Daily

The Daily

This is what the news should sound like. The biggest stories of our time, told by the best journalists in the world. Hosted by Michael Barbaro. Twenty minutes a day, five days a week, ready by 6 a.m.

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.