All Episodes

November 23, 2019 59 min
In 2007, Anucha Kongthavorn stepped off a plane in San Francisco from his native Thailand, and got a job cooking the same day. He's spent his career in the service industry, from restaurant busser to cruise ship butler, culminating in opening his own Thai food take out, Mae Krua. He joins us to talk about his journey, shares his philosophy on serving others, provides advice on starting a restaurant, and explains why his restaurant regulars asked about his emotions before ordering. In this episode, he tells us the origin of the name "Mae Krua" how he got into the service business the value of persistence why he uses feeling and emotion when making food how to recognize if you're in the wrong job why thinking deeply about food is the first step of opening a restaurant the impact of emotions on the size of a tablespoon why he stopped using food delivery services like GrubHub much, much more... we get philosophical on this one. Links and Show Notes 331 Cortland (https://www.facebook.com/331cortland/) Star Cruises (https://www.starcruises.com/us/en) Princess Cruises (https://www.princess.com/) CCSF: City College of San Francisco (http://www.ccsf.edu/) ESL (English as a Second Language) (https://www.ccsf.edu/en/educational-programs/school-and-departments/school-of-international-education-and-esl/english-as-a-second-language-esl.html) de Young Café (https://deyoung.famsf.org/deyoung/visiting/de-young-cafe) Paulie’s Pickling (https://pauliespickling.com/) Lonely Planet (https://www.lonelyplanet.com/) Mae Krua in Lonely Planet (https://www.lonelyplanet.com/usa/san-francisco/restaurants/mae-krua/a/poi-eat/1518213/1329643) Yelp (https://www.yelp.com/) Amazon Prime (https://www.amazon.com/amazonprime?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=pf4&linkId=%7B%7Blink_id%7D%7D&primeCampaignId=prime_assoc_ft&ref_=assoc_tag_ph_1427739975520&tag=lettucewrap-20) (Amazon Restaurants is now closed) Grubhub (https://www.grubhub.com/)/Eat24 Uber Eats (https://www.ubereats.com/) Definition of veganism | The Vegan Society (https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan/definition-veganism) The Vegan Diet — A Complete Guide for Beginners (https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/vegan-diet-guide#section5) Ukiah Temple/City of 10,000 Buddhas (http://www.cttbusa.org/) Our thanks to Anucha for joining us. We wish him the best of luck in whatever he decides to do next. Save 25% at Spice Hound and NeoCocoa! The holiday season is upon us, and as a special “thank you” for being a Lettuce Wrap listener, we’re offering you 25% off all items at both NeoCocoa and SpiceHound online stores! Listen to the episode for the special website and discount code! Thank you for listening. You can follow us on Twitter and Instagram: Lettuce Wrap: @lettucewrappod (https://twitter.com/lettucewrappod) / @lettucewrappod (https://instagram.com/lettucewrappod) Christine Doerr: @christinedoerr (https://twitter.com/christinedoerr) / @neococoaconfections (https://www.instagram.com/neococoaconfections/) Tammy Tan: @spicehound (http://twitter.com/spicehound) / @spicehound (https://www.instagram.com/spicehound/) or email us at lettucerwrappod@gmail.com (mailto:lettucerwrappod@gmail.com). That’s a wrap! Amazon (https://amzn.to/2DBzg5j) and other links may be affiliates. Purchases help support the show. Special Guest: Anucha Kongthavorn, Mae Krua.
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About Lettuce Wrap

Advertise With Us

Popular Podcasts

Crime Junkie
The Ron Burgundy Podcast

The Ron Burgundy Podcast

Will Ferrell reprises his role as Ron Burgundy in his brand new Ron Burgundy Podcast! Each episode has a different theme in which Ron engages in conversation with another notable person on the topic at hand. In true Ron Burgundy fashion, these conversations have a tendency to go off the rails, and we find out things about people we never knew we wanted to know. In season 2, Ron considers a run for President, continues to perform music, and blacks out at work. In Season 1, Ron addressed important issues like bullying and the mind-expanding nature of meditation, and attempted to ultimately answer the question “seriously, what is a podcast?”

The Daily

The Daily

This is what the news should sound like. The biggest stories of our time, told by the best journalists in the world. Hosted by Michael Barbaro. Twenty minutes a day, five days a week, ready by 6 a.m.

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.