All Episodes

November 17, 2020 46 min
Steph's taking a quick break this week, but while she's away, Chris is joined by special guest Gary Bernhardt. Gary is the creator of Destroy All Software screencasts as well as his more recent venture, Execute Program. Between Execute Program, his screencasts, conference talks, and more Gary has consistently provided some of the highest quality and most impactful educational content around building great software and has been a huge inspiration to the hosts of this show. In the episode, Chris and Gary discuss Gary's recent work with TypeScript and how it compares with Gary's focus on testing, they revisit some of Gary's ideas around software architecture and how they map to his current work, Gary's thoughts around the value of knowing our tools deeply, and the trade-offs between careful upfront design and shipping early and often. This episode is brought to you by: ScoutAPM (https://scoutapm.com/bikeshed) - Give Scout a try for free today and Scout will donate $5 to the open source project of your choice when you deploy Indeed (https://Indeed.com/bikeshed) - Click through and get started with a free seventy five dollar credit for your first job post Gary Bernhardt on Twitter (https://twitter.com/garybernhardt) Destroy All Software Screencasts (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/) Execute Program (https://www.executeprogram.com/) Deconstruct Conf (https://www.deconstructconf.com/) Gary's Conference Talks (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/talks) Gary's new video - End-to-End TypeScript: Database, Backend, API, and Frontend (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrnBXhsr0ng) TypeScript Eslint (https://github.com/typescript-eslint/typescript-eslint) tsuquyomi Vim TypeScript integration (https://github.com/Quramy/tsuquyomi) Functional Core, Imperative Shell (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/screencasts/catalog/functional-core-imperative-shell) Boundaries (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/talks/boundaries) A Compiler From Scratch (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/screencasts/catalog/a-compiler-from-scratch) The Unix Chainsaw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCZJblyT_XM) A Whole New World (https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/talks/a-whole-new-world) Hammock Driven Development (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f84n5oFoZBc) WaniKani kanji learning app (https://www.wanikani.com/) Anki - spaced repetition flashcard system (https://apps.ankiweb.net/) Become a Sponsor (https://thoughtbot.com/sponsorship) of The Bike Shed!
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About The Bike Shed

Advertise With Us

Popular Podcasts

Crime Junkie
The Daily

The Daily

This is what the news should sound like. The biggest stories of our time, told by the best journalists in the world. Hosted by Michael Barbaro. Twenty minutes a day, five days a week, ready by 6 a.m.

Dateline NBC

Dateline NBC

Current and classic episodes, featuring compelling true-crime mysteries, powerful documentaries and in-depth investigations.

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.