RaceDay Nation

Roger Penske 100616

October 7, 20166 min
Time to celebrate the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series championship team as Simon Pagenaud gave team owner Roger Penske his 14th IndyCar National Championship in Team Penske's 50th Year of Racing. Pagenaud led a 1-2-3 sweep of the top three positions in the standings followed by teammates Will Power and Helio Castroneves. It's only the second time that has happened since Team Penske did it in the 1994 CART series with Al Unser, Jr. winning the title over teammates Emerson Fittipaldi and Paul Tracy. The key to the team's success is always looking for a way to improve. On Tuesday night, October 4 he celebrated Pagenaud's championship but 12 hours later announced Josef Newgarden would replace two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya in the No. 2 Verizon Chevrolet beginning next season. RACEDAY's Bruce Martin caught up with team owner Roger Penske at the Tuesday's Verizon INDYCAR Championship Celebration for today's Honda IndyCar Report

Chat About Roger Penske 100616

For You