Iowa Senate Chooses new leadership

By Sue Danielson

March 14, 2018

(DES MOINES, Iowa)   Senate Republicans have elected Senator Jack Whitver, R-Ankeny, Majority Leader, Senator Charles Schneider, R-West Des Moines, and Senator Sinclair, R-Allerton, Majority Whip.

“I am honored and humbled to receive the support of my colleagues as we move forward with new leadership to continue the agenda Iowans elected us to implement,” said Whitver. “Iowa is the best state in the country, however, we must not be satisfied with our success. Senate Republicans will continue to improve the environment for education, health care and career opportunities for all Iowans. This caucus has been an effective governing force because we have remained united in pursuing our goals. That unity remains in place today. I look forward to working with Governor Reynolds and House Leadership to conclude this successful session.”

Senator Charles Schneider, a West Des Moines Republican has been elected Senate President.   

"I congratulate my friend Jack Whitver on his election as Majority Leader. I know he has the leadership skills to guide us successfully through the remainder of this session and for many years to come. I also want to thank my fellow Senate Republicans for their confidence in me by choosing me to be Senate President.”

Senate Republicans have chosen Senator Amy Sinclair, R-Allerton as Majority Whip. “I am excited to work with the new leadership team in the Iowa Senate. We have tremendous opportunities ahead of us to continue to make bold changes to Iowa. I am eager to work with my colleagues in this new role and seeing positive legislation moving forward for the rest of this session.”

Senator Jake Chapman, R-Adel, was also selected as an Assistant Majority Leader. “It is an honor and a privilege to be elected by my peers to this position. I am excited to be part of the leadership team.”

Republicans in the Iowa Senate were forced to vote on new leadership in light of this week's resignation of Majority Leader Bill Dix, after a video surfaced of Dix kissing a lobbyist in a Des Moines bar. 

There are at least two candidates vying to replace Bill Dix in the state Senate.

Former state lawmaker, Republican Annette Sweeney says she'll run for the seat.   Democrat Tracy Freese has also announced she's running for Senate District 25, which covers parts of central and northeast Iowa.

Chat About Iowa Senate Chooses new leadership

For You