Carrie Underwood Reveals Why 'Cry Pretty' Is Her Most Personal Album Yet

By Chandler Reeves

September 14, 2018

Carrie Underwood has released her sixth studio album, Cry Pretty, and for the first time ever, she co-produced with David Garcia, and co-wrote eight of the 12 songs featured on the LP. In fact, many have deemed this her most personal album to date. iHeartRadio had the opportunity to sit down with her in Nashville to dig into the story behind the album.

"I feel like since the beginning of my career, like everything has really been go, go go. I was so young when I was on American Idol and was making my first album - I was learning as I would go," she explained. "I feel like at this point in my life, I feel so much more confident in myself as a songwriter, as an artist, and putting forth and creating what I want to create."

For the first time in that fast-paced career, Underwood said that she had the time to dig deeper with this project. "We had the time this past year, for me to be able to spend on going into producing for the first time. Which was a huge step, and I feel like a very natural progression. With everything that I do, I become more and more involved and take more ownership. With the Cry Pretty album, I wrote more for this one that I've ever written before and went into producing. It means a lot to me, that I was there every step of the way. I wasn't trying to communicate to somebody else, what I wanted things to sound and feel like. I was in the drivers seat," she explained.

With co-writing the most songs she ever has for an album, and having her fingerprints all over the production, it's easy to see why this album is her most personal album to date. Scroll on below to see the full tracklist for the LP and watch her new video for "Love Wins."

1. "Cry Pretty"

2. "Ghosts on the Stereo"

3. "Low"

4. "Backsliding"

5. "That Song That We Used to Make Love To"

6. "The Bullet"

7. "Southbound"

8. "Drinking Alone"

9. "Spinning Bottles"

10. "Love Wins"

11. "End Up With You"

12. "Kingdom"

Bonus Track: "The Champion" (Featuring Ludacris) 

Cry Pretty is currently available for download on iTunes

Carrie Underwood

Chat About Carrie Underwood Reveals Why 'Cry Pretty' Is Her Most Personal Album Yet

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.