Captain Kirk Goes Country With Cody Alan

By Lauryn Snapp

February 11, 2019

William Shatner released his first-ever country album, “Why Not Me” on August 10, 2018. Fast forward six months and Shatner is bound for the Grand Ole Opry stage making his first-ever Opry appearance on February 15th.

RELATED: William Shatner To Make 'Grand Ole Opry' Debut

Always shooting for the moon, the Star Trek actor called Cody Alan to share updates on his new life as a country music star.

“How did this all start?” asked Cody “I want to blame your friend Brad Paisley, maybe, but I’m not sure?”

“No Brad didn’t have anything to do with this,” laughed Shatner. “He had a lot to do with other monkey shines, but not this.”

Ruling out Brad Paisley’s involvement, Shatner continued to explain his love for country music and why the decision to say yes to making a country record “just made sense."

“Well, the first reason, and probably the only reason, was that I was asked too and thought “well why not?” Captain Kirk is always up for a new quest. “Given the opportunity to do something, if it has some romance and gusto to it, I’m liable to say yes. Just for the pure adventure of it. So, doing a country music album, it lends itself to the way I do these things, because of the lyric so I jumped at the chance. I love country music.”

Tickets for the Grand Ole Opry can be found  HERE .

'Why Not Me' Track List:

  1. Hush Her With A Kiss 
  2. Got A Thing For You
  3. Why Not Me (feat. Neal McCoy & Home Free)
  4. Friends Don’t Let Friends Drink Alone
  5. Should’a Loved (feat. Cash Creek)
  6. Beam Me Up
  7. Too Old To Be Vegan (feat. Cash Creek)
  8. I Hate To Waste Good Beer
  9. What Some People Throw Away
  10. Wrong Number
  11. Hello Me
  12. That’s What Dreamers Do

Photo Credit: Heartland Records Nashville

Chat About Captain Kirk Goes Country With Cody Alan

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.