Red Hot Chili Peppers' Giza Pyramids Performance Will Be Streamed Live

By Katrina Nattress

March 8, 2019

In January, Red Hot Chili Peppers announced they'd be playing a special show at the great Pyramids of Giza on March 15. Though it will be a historic performance, it's tough for fans to travel to Egypt for the concert. But fear not, on Friday (March 8) the SoCal rockers revealed that the full set will be streaming live on Twitter starting at 9pm EET / 7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST, making it the first ever livestream of a concert at the Giza Pyramids.

“Before each new place my body tingled with excitement, a yearning for a new mystery to unfold, a fascination with a new culture, the possibility of new friends, tasting new food, smelling new tastes, absorbing new rhythms. Learning. Learning. Learning," Flea wrote in a statement. "It is happening again right now, my heart is abuzz with joy at the prospect of performing in Egypt. I’m so grateful and humbled for the impending experience."

"The pyramids, it’s unbelievable, we just jumped at the opportunity…I have always been fascinated by Egypt and that region of the world and I’m so excited to go.”

Check out the livestream announcement below.

Red Hot Chili Peppers are hard at work on their 12th studio album; however, recording was halted by last year's devastating wildfires in Southern California. Despite the setback, our fingers are crossed that we'll get new music from the band this year.

Photo: Getty Images

Chat About Red Hot Chili Peppers' Giza Pyramids Performance Will Be Streamed Live