Radiohead Releases 18 Hours Of 'OK Computer' Sessions After Getting Hacked

By Katrina Nattress

June 11, 2019

Last week, someone hacked into one of Thom Yorke's minidisk archives and held 18 hours of sessions taken from OK Computer ransom. Instead of appealing to the thieves, Radiohead decided to beat them to it and have released all of the leaked demos, outtakes, and so forth on Bandcamp.

The music will be available to purchase for 18 days and costs £18 (roughly $23), with all proceeds benefiting English ecological activist group Extinction Rebellion.

"“We got hacked last week — someone stole Thom’s minidisk archive from around the time of ‘OK Computer,’ and reportedly demanded $150,000 on threat of releasing it," the band's Jonny Greenwood said in a statement. "So instead of complaining — much — or ignoring it, we’re releasing all 18 hours on Bandcamp in aid of Extinction Rebellion. Just for the next 18 days. So for £18 you can find out if we should have paid that ransom."

“Never intended for public consumption (though some clips did reach the cassette in the ‘OK Computer’ reissue) it’s only tangentially interesting," he continued. "And very, very long. Not a phone download. Rainy out, isn’t it though?”

"It’s not v interesting. There’s a lot of it … as it’s out there it may as well be out there until we all get bored and move on," Yorke wrote in the Bandcamp description.

The 1.8GB collection will be available until June 29 and can be purchased here.

Photo: Getty Images


Chat About Radiohead Releases 18 Hours Of 'OK Computer' Sessions After Getting Hacked

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.