Death Cab For Cutie Announce 'The Blue EP,' Share First Single

By Katrina Nattress

July 30, 2019

Less than a year after releasing their latest album Thank You For Today, Death Cab For Cutie are prepping a new EP. The Blue EP will feature five new songs and is slated for a September 6 release.

Along with the announcement, the band shared the new project's first single, "Kids in '99" — a somber tribute to three children who lost their lives in the 1999 Bellingham Olympic Pipeline explosion in Seattle, Washington.

"The Olympic Pipeline explosion in 1999 was a tragedy that really affected me while we were living in Bellingham," frontman Ben Gibbard said in a statement. "After all these years I felt it was worthy of its own folk song.”

The news also comes just days after "Do You Remember," the band's feature on Chance The Rapper's debut album, The Big Day.

Death Cab For Cutie have been on the road all year and after a short break head back on tour throughout September. Check out a full list of dates here.

Listen to "Kids in '99" and check out The Blue EP track list below.

The Blue EP Track List

  1. To The Ground
  2. Kids in ’99
  3. Man In Blue
  4. Before The Bombs
  5. Blue Bloods

Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel

Death Cab for Cutie

Chat About Death Cab For Cutie Announce 'The Blue EP,' Share First Single

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2020 iHeartMedia, Inc.