David Bowie Live Album To Be Released On 2020 Record Store Day

By Hayden Brooks

February 21, 2020

David Bowie rarities will be available for fans in honor of Record Store Day on April 18.

As per a recent announcement, audio from his 1974 tour will be featured on a two-disc compilation titled I'm Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74). Available on both CD and vinyl, the upcoming release includes a mostly complete recording of his show at the Michigan Palace in Detroit on October 20, 1974. Now, "Diamond Dogs" won't be featured on the set as it wasn't finished at the time of the show. Among the remaining three tracks on the collection include recordings from his Nashville Municipal Auditorium concert on November 30.

"During a three week break in late 1974, the Diamond Dogs Tour’s elaborate six-ton Hunger City stage set was drastically stripped back, and the tour’s set list overhauled to include as-yet-unreleased tracks from theYoung Americanssessions at Sigma Sound in Philadelphia," a press released read. "The Soul Tour also featured a revamped band, augmented to include musicians and vocalists from those sessions, and rechristened The Mike Garson Band."

In addition to I'm Only Dancing, a second Bowie Record Store Day 2020 collectable deemed Changesnowbowie is set for the annual milestone. That release will feature rehearsals for Bowie's 50th birthday concert at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74) Tracklist

Disc One

1. "Introduction – Memory of a Free Festival"

2. "Rebel Rebel"

3. "John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)"

4. "Sorrow"

5. "Changes"

6. "1984"

7. "Moonage Daydream"

8. "Rock ’n’ Roll With Me"

9. "Love Me Do / The Jean Genie"

10. "Young Americans"

Disc Two

1. "Can You Hear Me"

2. "It’s Gonna Be Me"

3. "Somebody Up There Likes Me"

4. "Suffragette City"

5. "Rock ’n’ Roll Suicide"

6. "Panic in Detroit"

7. "Knock on Wood"

8. "Foot Stomping / I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate / Foot Stomping"

9. "Diamond Dogs / It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It) / Diamond Dogs"

View this post on Instagram

I’M ONLY DANCING FOR RECORD STORE DAY 2020 “It’s got you reeling and rocking...” In addition to the already announced Record Store Day 2020 album CHANGESNOWBOWIE, Parlophone Records are proud to also announce the release of previously unissued recordings of Bowie in concert in 1974, in the form of I’M ONLY DANCING (THE SOUL TOUR 74) on 2LP and 2CD. Check out DavidBowie.com for the press release and tracklisting: https://smarturl.it/RSDBowieIOD74BNetPR (Temp link in bio) Meanwhile we’ll leave you with the updated release schedule: ~ Friday 20th March: Limited Edition IS IT ANY WONDER? physical EP on 12” vinyl and CD released. ~ Friday 20th March: FUN (Dillinja mix) 1 track digital download and streaming single due. ~ Saturday 18th April: CHANGESNOWBOWIE vinyl LP and CD released for Record Store Day. ~ Saturday 18th April: I’M ONLY DANCING (THE SOUL TOUR 74) Double vinyl LP and 2CD released for Record Store Day. #BowieIOD74 #CHANGESNOWBOWIE #BowieRSD20 #BowieIIAW

A post shared by David Bowie (@davidbowie) on

Photo: Getty Images

David Bowie

Chat About David Bowie Live Album To Be Released On 2020 Record Store Day

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.