The 'Friends' Reunion Is Officially Happening — Get All The Details

By Peyton Blakemore

February 22, 2020

It's happening! After years of speculation, a Friends reunion is finally on the way.

On Friday (February 21), the beloved show's original six cast members — Jennifer Aniston, Courteney Cox, Lisa Kudrow, Matt LeBlanc, Matthew Perry, and David Schwimmer — announced that they will reunite for an untitled unscripted special on the upcoming HBO Max. Fans will be able to watch the reunion special, and all 236 episodes of the NBC series, when the streaming platform launches in May, Entertainment Weekly reports.

“Guess you could call this the one where they all got back together — we are reuniting with David, Jennifer, Courteney, Matt, Lisa, and Matthew for an HBO Max special that will be programmed alongside the entire Friends library,” said Kevin Reilly, chief content officer, HBO Max and president, TBS, TNT, and truTV, in a statement, per EW. “I became aware of Friends when it was in the very early stages of development and then had the opportunity to work on the series many years later and have delighted in seeing it catch on with viewers generation after generation. It taps into an era when friends – and audiences – gathered together in real time and we think this reunion special will capture that spirit, uniting original and new fans.”

The cast was the first to announce the news, with five of the six sharing the same image of themselves with the words, “It’s happening,” on social media. However, Matt being Matt chose to post the same caption but instead, he hilariously shared a photo of the original cast of M*A*S*H.

According to EW, Ben Winston of The Late Late Show With James Corden will direct the special and will executive produce along with Friends executive producers Kevin Bright, Marta Kauffman, and David Crane. The original six cast members will also executive produce the special.

Photo: Getty Images

Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.