Connecticut Issued $1,000 Fines To Residents Who Violated Travel Advisory
By Bill Galluccio
August 12, 2020
Officials in Connecticut announced they fined two people for violating the state's coronavirus travel advisory. The individuals were each hit with a $1,000 fine for refusing to fill out public health forms after returning from Louisiana and Florida. One of the individuals was fined an additional $1,000 after their co-worker told authorities they refused to quarantine for 14 days.
"Look, I hate to do it, but we are going to be serious and show people we are serious about this," Governor Ned Lamont said during a press conference. "Overwhelmingly, the number of people flying into our state from COVID-infected areas is way down. I think people are self-policing and self-regulating, but not all are," he added.
"We wanted to send a message loud and clear."
The residents were not identified, and officials said they have not traced any infections to the individuals.
Currently, Connecticut requires anybody traveling from a state with a new daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average, to quarantine for 14 days. As of Wednesday, the list included 34 U.S. states.
Photo: Getty Images