Hunter Hayes Unleashes Long-Awaited 'Red Sky' After Years In The Making

By Kelly Fisher

April 21, 2023

Photo: Getty Images

Hunter Hayes released his long-awaited 15-track album after years in the making and months of teasing his social media followers with details about the project. Hayes finally debuted Red Sky on Friday (April 21). Hayes has been teasing his next era of music since last summer, when he released “Missing You.” Since then, he’s also shared several other tracks — including “Normal,” “Lonely Loves Me,” “Sober” and “Friend,” to name a few — and other details about Red Sky, including his soon-to-begin tour of the same name.

“The road to Red Sky has been one of the most life-changing adventures of my human experience. So many challenges and so much growth required to dive deeper and reach higher,” Hayes reflected as he shared a series of photos on Instagram on Friday. “I traveled around the world in search for what the purpose of this album was and what my role was in making this music. I’m so grateful to make music for people who champion honesty, share authenticity and create a safe space for vulnerability. We’ve had incredible chats around life lessons and how to be human. We’ve shared our nerd sides and embraced what makes us all unique. You’ve always encouraged me to push myself out of my comfort zones and you raise the bar for challenging the rules and for that, I’m deeply grateful.

“This project represents freedom in so many ways and I have so many people to thank for giving me that freedom,” he continued. “I’m also filled with immense gratitude for all the people who have worked SO HARD to bring this project and these messages to life. I’ll gush, brag and introduce you to all my friends in another post but for now, for starters, thank you for lifting me up and helping me get to this point in time with this project to finally be able to say… WELCOME TO RED SKY.”

  1. High Tide
  2. About a Boy
  3. Normal
  4. Missing You
  5. Lonely Loves Me
  6. If You Change Your Mind
  7. Sober
  8. Friend
  9. Feelings
  10. Wallflower
  11. Someone Will
  12. The One That Got Away
  13. Could’ve Been You
  14. Falling and Flying
  15. Victory

“I’ve waited over a decade to say this… My first fully independent album, more than 3 years in the making - RED SKY - will be out everywhere APRIL 21st!” Hayes exclaimed in an announcement in February. “This project is about the adventure of finding yourself to be yourself. Musically, it’s a road trip from where I’ve been to where I am. Lyrically, it’s for anyone who needs a reminder of how unique your fire inside is and how much the world needs more YOU in it. I’m so grateful to all the people who helped me bring this music and this message to life! I’ve never been more proud of a body of work than I am of RED SKY and I cannot wait for APRIL 21st to give it to YOU so you can make it YOURS.”

Hayes previously promised “many surprises on this tour both on and off stage.” The “Red Sky Tour” is set to kick off on May 3 in San Diego, California. Other stops include Texas, Louisiana, Georgia, South Caroina, New. York, New. Jersey, Colorado and other destinations along the nationwide trek. Hayes recently announced that the “Red Sky Tour” will also include Sam DeRosa, Frawley, Abby Anderson and Loren Gray.

Find the full Red Sky album on iHeartRadio here, and listen to a few of the tracks below.

“Missing You”

Hunter Hayes
Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.