Kelsea Ballerini, Jelly Roll Revealed Among Top 6 CMT Music Award Finalists

By Kelly Fisher

April 1, 2024

Photo: Getty Images

Ashley McBryde, Cody Johnson, HARDY, Jelly Roll, Kelsea Ballerini and Lainey Wilson were revealed as the Top 6 Video of the Year finalists after the first round of voting for the 2024 CMT Music Awards closed on Monday (April 1). CMT announced that the original list of 16 nominees for the most coveted award of the night was narrowed down to:

  • Ashley McBryde - “Light On In the Kitchen”
  • Cody Johnson - “The Painter”
  • HARDY - “Truck Bed”
  • Jelly Roll - “Need A Favor”
  • Kelsea Ballerini - “IF YOU GO DOWN (I’M GOIN’ DOWN TOO)
  • Lainey Wilson “Watermelon Moonshine”

CMT noted that the Top 6 finalists are competing for their first Video of the Year victory, and Johnson, Jelly Roll, Ballerini and Wilson are all up for the most wins of the night. the Top 3 Video of the Year nominees will be confirmed the morning of the show, on Sunday, April 7, and voting in this category will remain open through the live show at, leading to the reveal at the end of the night.

Ballerini, a top nominee, will return to solo host the highly-anticipated show. She’ll also take the stage that evening. Other performers throughout the night include Bailey Zimmerman, Cody JohnsonJelly Roll, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, Little Big Town with Sugarland, Megan Moroney, NEEDTOBREATHE with Jordan Davis, Old Dominion with Megan Moroney, Parker McCollum with Brittney Spencer, Sam Hunt, and Trisha Yearwood, who will also receive the first-ever June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award.

The 2024 CMT Music Awards will return to Moody Center in Austin, Texas, taking place on Sunday, April 7, and airing live (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/delayed PT). Viewers can watch on CBS and stream live and on demand on Paramount+.

Kelsea BalleriniJelly RollLainey Wilson
Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.