Rap Rising: Vince Staples Releases His Sixth Studio Album 'Dark Times'

By Tony M. Centeno

May 24, 2024

Vince Staples is back with his brand-new album.

On Thursday night, May 22, the Long Beach native delivered his sixth studio LP Dark Times. The rapper-actor comes through with 13 original tracks with no features. Staples opens his album with the sounds of wind chimes before he gets into hits like "Black&Blue" and "Government Cheese." Other stand-out tracks include the lead single "Shame On The Devil," "Little Homies" and "'Radio'," in which he raps about the glory days of radio stations like Real 92.3. He also shouts out Big Boy's Neighborhood on the aforementioned track.

"I miss the radio/Big Boy in the mornin, zoned in, waitin' for my favorite song," Vince raps. "Ridin' with my pops, in the front seat/Pull up to the block, with the real Gs."

Vince announced his album earlier this week along with the release of "Shame on the Devil." Dark Times serves as is his final release on his longtime label Def Jam Recordings, which has been the home of his discography since he delivered his debut EP Hell Can Wait in 2014.

In addition to Vince's new project, there are other dope albums that dropped today. Shenseea, Coi Leray, Sexyy Red, Baby Jungle, Smoke DZA and more released new albums. Listen to their new music on iHeartRadio's Rap Rising playlist and check out more fresh Hip-Hop joints below.


Vince Staples, Dark Times (Album)

Shenseea, Never Gets Late Here (Album)

Sexyy Red, In Sexyy We Trust (Album)

Baby Jungle, Jungle Book (Album)

Jackboy, Trust The Process (Album)

Coi Leray, Lemon Cars (EP)

Rah Swish, Elevator Music (Album)

Smoke DZA & DJ Relly Rell, You're All Welcome (Album)

Cash Cobain featuring J. Cole, "Grippy"

Rich The Kid featuring Peso Pluma, "Gimme A Second" executive by Kanye & Ty Dolla $ign

Quavo, "Clear The Smoke"

Central Cee featuring Lil Baby, "BAND4BAND"

Southside featuring Lucki, "Elegant"

HitKidd featuring Key Glock & Doe Boy, "Nott"

Russ featuring Melii, "Best Friend"

Dave East & Mike Keys featuring Shaggy, "Dangerous Riddum"

Zacari, "Lonewolf Still"

YG, "Weird"

BLP Kosher featuring BabyTron, "Pro Open"

PinkPantheress, "Turn It Up"

Loe Shimmy, "All My Love"

Wizz Havinn, "Don Julio"

Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.