Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Comic Book Reviews and Discussion, The Gutters (audio journal), The Legion Project, and Center Seat, a Star Trek podcast... Show More

Episodes

September 23, 2020 90 min

Recorded August 1, 2020

I'm joined by my 14-year-old granddaughter Madison to discuss Raina Telgemeier's wonderful graphic novel Sisters. This is my favorite of the memoirs set and we had a lovely conversation about it. What did you think of this book?

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thank...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    Recorded August 9, 2020

    I give some quick(ish) thoughts on the Batman: Universe, House of X/Powers of X, and Superman: Up in the Sky hard cover collections.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Link:

  • https://neverstaydead.podbean.com/e/a-pox-on-your-house-of-x/
  • Share
    Mark as Played
    September 2, 2020 60 min

    Stardate 2020.246. On this episode of Center Seat, my Star Trek podcast, I talk about the first season of Star Trek: Discovery. Discover if I thought the new series lived up to the promise of Star Trek.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Theme music: "Saving the World" b...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    August 26, 2020 70 min

    Recorded August 16, 2020

    Travis (https://www.youtube.com/user/oddfellowsthoughts and https://twitter.com/the_gaunt_man) returns after too long an absence to discuss the DC Comics layoffs that were reported on August 10, 2020, and what that could mean going forward, not just for DC Comics, but for the comic book industry. Travis also offers a mini review of John Constantine: Hellblazer.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    August 19, 2020 146 min

    Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

    In this episode we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #24: "Suspicion" and (the backup tale) "Togetherness". The Legion's suspicion about...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    July 23, 2020 50 min

    Recorded July 12, 2020

    More thoughts about COVID-19 (the new normal), #blacklivesmatter, #defundthepolice, what I've been up to recently with the family, and what pop culture I've been consuming (including Hamilton!). Warning: Explicit language used.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks ...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    July 15, 2020 82 min

    I'm celebrating 10 years of podcasting by reminiscing and then answering listener questions (at the 28:32 mark)! Thanks to everyone who sent me Twitter messages, email, and voicemail. Here's to another 10 years!(?)

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Links:

  • Sgt. Merica on...
  • Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    Stardate 2020.190. Star Trek was my first fandom, way before comic books, and while I have included Star Trek related material in the podcast feed before, I decided to rebrand those shows as Center Seat, my new Star Trek podcast. This episode I talk about why I love Star Trek and why it matters to me.

    Future episodes will include movie and tv series commentary, as well as other topics. I hope you will join me on this strange new a...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

    In this episode we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #23: "Back Home in Hell!". Mon-El's lead serum has stopped working, and to stay alive he mu...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This final retrosode is a rebroadcast of episode 169 from 2019 where I talked with MJ from the Nerd Goggles podcast about her show and then we start discussing the Birds of Prey trade Of Like Minds (the rest of the conversation about this trade is in episode 170, linked below).

    Thank you for supporting the ...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    June 20, 2020 69 min

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This is a rebroadcast of episode 146 from 2018 where my granddaughter Madison and I talk about one of her (and my) favorite graphic novels, Smile by Raina Telgemeier.

    Thank you for supporting the podcast over these 10 years.

    Original post: https://longboxreview.com/2018/08/15/podcast-146-raina-telgemeiers-...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    June 13, 2020 142 min

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This is a rebroadcast of episode 129 from 2017 where George from the Meanwhile at the Podcast and I talk about some Christmas themed or related comic books.

    Thank you for supporting the podcast over these 10 years.

    Original post: https://longboxreview.com/2017/12/18/podcast-129-christmas-gab-bag/

    Share
    Mark as Played

    Welcome to the Tales of the Legion Project where we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes material outside of the Baxter run. This episode we talk about the 1985/6 mini-series Legionnaires 3.

    Timestamps:

    (00:36) Preamble
    (08:00) Legionnaires 3 issues 1 thru 4: synopsis, general thoughts, and cover talk
    (32:13) Main discussion focusing on Lightning Lad, Cosmic Boy, and Saturn Girl
    (1:04:54) A deep dive into the origins and appearances of ...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    Holy octogenarian! Robin the Boy Wonder turns 80?! This episode I discuss the stories, pinups, and other items in the Robin 80th Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular!

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Links:

  • Dick Grayson spotlight post
  • New Teen Titans spotlight episode
  • Varia...
  • Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This is a rebroadcast of episode 105 from 2016 where Peter Rios from The Daily Rios podcast and I talk about one of my very favorite comic book teams of all time, the Legion of Super-Heroes.

    Thank you for supporting the podcast over these 10 years.

    Original post: https://longboxreview.com/2016/09/28/podcas...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This is a rebroadcast of episode 92 from 2015 where I talk about one of my very favorite comic book titles of all time, The New Teen Titans.

    Thank you for supporting the podcast over these 10 years.

    Original post: https://longboxreview.com/2015/12/19/podcast-episode-92-new-teen-titans-spotlight/

    Share
    Mark as Played

    2020 is the 10th anniversary of the Longbox Review podcast, and to celebrate, I am spotlighting 10 episodes from the archive. This is a rebroadcast of episode 88 from 2015 where I talk about the fantastic series Danger Club with Damian (sleepyreader666). Be sure to check Damian's YouTube channel as well as the other episodes.

    Thank you for supporting the podcast over these 10 years.

    Danger Club episodes:

  • Episode 88 (issues 1-...
  • Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    May 6, 2020 116 min

    Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

    In this episode we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #22: "Dead End".  Universo makes a move, the mystery of Sensor Girl continues, and relationship...

    Read more
    Share
    Mark as Played
    April 29, 2020 54 min

    Suffering Sappho! This episode I discuss the stories, pinups, and other items in Wonder Woman #750!

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

    Thanks for listening!

    Links:

  • Other covers
  • Meanwhile at the Podcast episode 52, Podcast Creators Talk
  • Creator Talks podcast
  • Share
    Mark as Played

    Chat About Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

    Popular Podcasts

    The Breakfast Club
    Crime Junkie
    Crime Junkie
    If you can never get enough true crime...
    The Piketon Massacre
    The Piketon Massacre
    On the night of April 21, 2016 in rural Piketon, Ohio - eight members of the Rhoden family were viciously murdered execution style in their homes. Two years later in 2018, their neighbors, the Wagners, were arrested and charged with committing the largest massacre in Ohio’s history. Shocked by the arrests, this once close-knit and religious community remains divided and unable to cope. Was a respected and reputable Piketon family responsible for this unimaginable murder spree? Our team will examine the deep ties that connected both families. We’ll examine the evidence and possible motives for the crimes. For the first time we’ll speak with townspeople, psychological experts, respected investigators, friends and members of both families. Are the Wagners responsible for the murders, and if convicted, will they be executed? Or is it possible that there is still a murderer at large waiting to kill again?
      Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

      Connect

      © 2020 iHeartMedia, Inc.