Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Comic book discussion, plus The Gutters (audio journal), The Legion Project (LSH v3), and Center Seat (Star Trek).

Episodes

May 16, 2022 30 min

Spotlighting comic book news, May 2022 Previews, and Everyone Is Tulip by Dave Baker (writer), Nicole Goux (artist and co-colorist), and Ellie Hall (co-colorist) -- https://everyoneistulip.com/.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, call or text me (1-208-953-1841), chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Share
    Mark as Played

    Recorded Thanksgiving week 2021, Madison joins me to talk about one of her favorite comic books, Primer: A Superhero Graphic Novel by Gretel Lusky, Jennifer Muro, Thomas Krajewski, and Wes Abbott.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

    Fantastic Comic Fan podcast: https://fantasticcomicfan.podbean.com/

    Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple Podcasts
  • G...
  • Share
    Mark as Played

    Welcome to the Tales of the Legion Project where we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes material outside of the Baxter run. This episode we discuss the first six issues of the Sook/Bendis produced Legion.

    Timestamps: (00:38) Preamble (08:28) Legion of Super-Heroes (2020) #1-6 synopsis and general thoughts (38:01) Main discussion (1:25:12) On the covers and other smaller story points (1:43:27) Wrap-up and outro

    Music intro/outro: “The L...

    Share
    Mark as Played

    I talk about many of the comic books I read in March 2022:

  • Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #3
  • 1st Issue Specials HC (#1-3, 5-8, 10-13)
  • Secret Society of Super-Villains v1 (#1-10)
  • DC Special Blue Ribbon Digest #19 (My Greatest Adventure #80, Doom Patrol #86, 91, 90)
  • Love Everlasting #1-2
  • Reckless
  • Reckless: Friend of the Devil
  • Reckless: Destroy All Monsters
  • Immortal Hulk v10: Of Hell & Death (#46-50)
  • Nightwing #84-89
  • Batman/Catwoman #7-10
  • Huma...
  • Share
    Mark as Played

    Spotlighting comic book news, April 2022 Previews, and The Deadliest Bouquet by Erica Schultz (writer), Carola Borelli (artist), and Gab Contreras (colorist ) -- https://www.ericaschultzwrites.com/shop/.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

    Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Share
    Mark as Played

    Three guests -- Travis, Matt, and Damian -- join me to recommend five comic books around the theme of "First" to give you a Totally Awesome Week of Comics! What could those five comic books be? Listen to find out! Please let me know what you think of this new format.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

    Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple ...
  • Share
    Mark as Played

     

    The Universo Project Chapter 4

    "The 'Forgotten Legionnaires' finally have their showdown with Universo!"

    Timestamps: (00:45) Preamble, new Legion releases, and a few thoughts on Justice League vs LSH #1 (09:25) Legion of Super-Heroes #35 synopsis, general thoughts, and cover discussion (33:20) Main discussion (1:20:55) Other story points and listener feedback (1:36:51) Thoughts on the beginning of the Post-Crisis...

    Share
    Mark as Played
    March 22, 2022 23 min

    In honor of my daughter's birthday (Happy Birthday, Punkin'!), I converted a YouTube only video of me talking about the following comic books that came out in March 1990 for the podcast feed:

  • Daredevil #280
  • Legion of Super-Heroes #7
  • Hawk and Dove #12
  • New Titans #66
  • Star Trek #8
  • Animal Man #23
  • L.E.G.I.O.N. '90 #15.
  • Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit lo...

    Share
    Mark as Played

    I talk about many of the comic books I read in February 2022:

  • X-Men v3
  • Young Justice v3: Warriors and Warlords
  • Amazing Spider-Man #39 (Nuff Said)
  • Suicide Squad: Bad Blood
  • Giant Days v9
  • Ms. Marvel v1: No Normal
  • Time Before Time v1
  • The Many Deaths of Laila Starr
  • Batman/Catwoman Special
  • Saga #55
  • The Marvels #7-8
  • Serial #10
  • and passing comments about some other books
  • Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longb...

    Share
    Mark as Played

    I Am Hexed by Kirstin Thompson (writer), Christianne Gillenardo-Goudreau (artist on issue 1-2), Amagoia Agirre (issues 3-4), & Taylor Esposito (letters) -- https://www.iamhexed.com/

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

    Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Share
    Mark as Played

    I joined Damian (aka Sleepy Reader) to discuss the six-issue, 2003 series Arrowsmith by Kurt Busiek, Carlos Pacheco, Jesus Merino, Alex Sinclair, and Comicraft.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

    Follow Damian on Twitter and subscribe to his YouTube channel!

    Video version: https://youtu.be/uMXX2dbprPU

    Leave a 5-star review!

  • Apple Podcast...
  • Share
    Mark as Played
    February 23, 2022 45 min

    I talk about the comic books I read in January 2022:

  • Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #1-2
  • Defenders #1
  • Nightveil #1
  • Strange Tales #163 (Nick Fury)
  • Friday v1
  • X-Men (2019) v2
  • Are You Listening?
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me
  • Department of Truth v2: The City Upon a Hill
  • November v2-4
  • Infinite Frontier #2
  • Nice House on the Lake #1-2
  • Superman: Red & Blue
  • The Marvels #6
  • Serial #9
  • Firefly Holiday Special
  • Commanders in Crisis v2: The Reaction
  • Pleas...

    Share
    Mark as Played

    Mark Waid's FB post about Brian Augustyn.

    Top 5 Episode Links:

  • Eden (ep 202
  • Moneyshot v1 (ep 190
  • Commanders in Crisis v1 (ep 203
  • Superman and the Authority v1 (ep 208
  • Nightwing #78 (ep 204
  • Top 5 Contributors:

  • Dan
  • Chaos & Comics
  • James
  • Sgt Merica
  • Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listeni...

    Share
    Mark as Played
    February 9, 2022 35 min

    In this episode of The Gutters, my audio journal, I talk about why I #$@&ing hate December (warning: bleeped language), Maddie growing up, movies and television we've watched over the last few months, and I end with some podcast talk.

    Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com.

    Rate and review the show:

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • ...

    Share
    Mark as Played
    February 2, 2022 41 min

    I talk about the comic books I read in December 2021:

  • Wayne Family Adventures ep 2

  • Intrusion one-shot

  • Wonder Woman 80th Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular

  • Action Comics #546

  • Superman and the Authority v1

  • Thor v2: Prey

  • Scout’s Honor

  • Decorum #8

  • Serial #8

  • Truth & Justice #7

  • Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • ...
  • Share
    Mark as Played

    Links:

  • Carol Anne Talks Comics! (@AnneComics) Twitter thread about a new Justice League roster: https://twitter.com/AnneComics/status/1484168343863296001
  • Joshua Kemble's Two Stories:
  • Preview
  • Amazon link
  • Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com.

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Spotify
  • Google Podcasts
  • Thanks for listening!

    Share
    Mark as Played
    January 20, 2022 119 min

    Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

    The Universo Project Chapter 3

    "The imprisoned Legionnaires struggle to return to Earth, but the rest of the team has disbanded!"

    Timestamps: (00...

    Share
    Mark as Played
    January 1, 2022 149 min

    Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

    The Universo Project Chapter 2

    "Universo’s conquest continues as the galaxy falls under his hypnotic power!"

    Timestamps: (00:45) Preamble (06:39)...

    Share
    Mark as Played

    I talk about the George Pérez news, spotlight some comic books from the December 2021 Previews, and then I talk briefly about the 20 books I read in November 2021.

    (Photo from https://www.amazingcomicconaloha.com/)

    George Pérez's Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TheGeorgePerez/

    Pérez interview excerpts from SyFy Wire:

  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JdxfCgPXN0
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GYYZvBtZtU
  • https://w...
  • Share
    Mark as Played

    Popular Podcasts

      Current and classic episodes, featuring compelling true-crime mysteries, powerful documentaries and in-depth investigations.

      Crime Junkie

      If you can never get enough true crime... Congratulations, you’ve found your people.

      Morbid: A True Crime Podcast

      It’s a lighthearted nightmare in here, weirdos! Morbid is a true crime, creepy history and all things spooky podcast hosted by an autopsy technician and a hairstylist. Join us for a heavy dose of research with a dash of comedy thrown in for flavor.

      Stuff You Should Know

      If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.

      Sympathy Pains

      Hosted by Laura Beil (Dr. Death, Bad Batch), Sympathy Pains is a six-part series from Neon Hum Media and iHeartRadio. For 20 years, Sarah Delashmit told people around her that she had cancer, muscular dystrophy, and other illnesses. She used a wheelchair and posted selfies from a hospital bed. She told friends and coworkers she was trapped in abusive relationships, or that she was the mother of children who had died. It was all a con. Sympathy was both her great need and her powerful weapon. But unlike most scams, she didn’t want people’s money. She was after something far more valuable.

    Advertise With Us

    For You

      Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.

      Connect

      © 2022 iHeartMedia, Inc.