Professional Book Nerds

Professional Book Nerds

We're not just book nerds. We're professional book nerds! We are staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks from public libraries and schools. It's our job to discuss books all day long so we thought, "Why not share the conversation!" Hear about the best books we've read, get recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. Titles discussed are available to borrow through public libraries. Get started reading at overdrive.com and subscribe to our podcast today!... Show More

Episodes

March 4, 2021 25 min
Ep. #527 - On today's episode, Jill and Adam share some of their favorite books about running! They are both runners and passionate about the running community and get a little nerdy about what that community means to them. Running with a Police Escort by Jill Grunenwald Born to Run by Christopher McDougall  The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matthew Inman, AKA The Oatmeal North by Scott and Jenny Ju...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #526 - Adam speaks with Patricia Engel about her new novel, Infinite Country. This fast-paced story of family, separation, loss, and survival is one of the buzziest books of the year and this conversation will show you why. They discuss the feelings of loss and separation all families of diaspora experience, the intricate research Patricia did, and the closeness of this story to her heart. Literati Kids – Visit http://www.Liter...
Share
Mark as Played
February 25, 2021 28 min
ep #525. In today's episode, Adam and Jill dive into all of the great books coming out in March and share some of the ones they are most looking forward to. Books mentioned in today's episode: Infinite Country By Patricia Engel Act Your Age Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert The Conductors By Nicole Glover The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner The Lamplighters By Emma Stonex Accidentally Engaged by Farah Heron Raft of Stars By And...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #524 - Elizabeth Knox joins Adam from New Zealand to discuss her epic new fantasy novel, The Absolute Book. They discuss the elaborate worlds she built out, dealing with trauma through writing, and how gods can change. They also chat about the difference between the New Zealand and American Covid response. Get some PBN and Libby Swag – http://shop.overdrive.com/ Join our Reading Challenge on The Story Graph Learn more about you...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #523 - On today's episode, Jill and Adam are providing a few of their favorite cookbooks to help you out with the a Professional Book Nerds 2021 Reading Challenge! Be sure to tag us (@probooknerds) on your Instagram posts of any food or cocktails you make from a recipe book! Recording this hungry was a mistake. Books mentioned in this episode Michael Symon's 5 in 5 for Every Season Rustic Joyful Food By Danielle Ka...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #522 - Adam interviews debut author Genevieve Gornichec about her Norse mythology-inspired new book The Witch's Heart. They chat about Viking and Icelandic sagas, the unique character she decided to write about, and why she loves these types of books. Her book is perfect for fans of CIRCE and Norse Mythology. Literati Kids – Visit http://www.Literati.com/ProBookNerds for 25% off your first two orders Get some PBN and Libby ...
Share
Mark as Played
February 11, 2021 49 min
Ep. #521 - Wow. A lot of you really wanted to hear about what books we read but didn't enjoy and so... here you go. We would love to hear your thoughts so be sure to email us or send us social media messages. Hope you enjoy. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #520 - Adam interviews Rose Szabo about their new novel What Big Teeth. They discuss building out the gothic drama that unfolds in their novel, why Rose chose werewolves, and they both share thoughts on the recent Dracula series on Netflix. This was such a joy and their book is a perfect for fans of family drama, werewolves, dark mysteries, and gothic houses. You're going to love this. Sponsor Tommy John Visit Tommyjohn.com...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep 519: In today's episode, Jill is joined by romance author Kate Clayborn to discuss her book Love Lettering, which was selected to be the latest pick in the Together We Read US digital book club program. From Feb. 10 - Feb 24, readers in the United States can get the ebook or audiobook of Love Lettering without waitlist or holds. Sponsor: Kencko – Be one of the first 100 listeners to visit http://kencko.com/pbn for 25% off yo...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #518 - Adam speaks with Dr. Keisha N. Blain, co-editor of the new book Four Hundred Souls with Dr. Ibram X. Kendi. They discuss how the project came together, how the almost 100 authors were selected and how their essays were laid out, the coordination it took, and the astounding audiobook. There may not be a more important book released this year. A must-read book and a must-listen conversation. Sponsor: Literati Kids – Visit ...
Share
Mark as Played
January 28, 2021 40 min
Ep. #517 - You know it. You love it. It's our monthly wrap up of all the new books we can't wait to read! Books mentioned in this episode The Echo Wife By Sarah Gailey The Project By Courtney Summers The Removed By Brandon Hobson Honey Girl By Morgan Rogers Four Hundred Souls edited by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi and Dr. Keisha Blain The Burning Girls By C. J. Tudor This Close to Okay By Leesa Cross-Smith Fake Accounts By Lauren Oyl...
Share
Mark as Played
January 25, 2021 39 min
On today's episode, New York Times bestselling author Courtney Summers joins Jill to discuss her new book The Project. Along with discussing the fictional cult The Unity Project as seen in her book, Courtney discusses the research she did on real-life cults as part of her process, including Jonestown and The People's Temple. Today's episode is sponsored by Tommy John Visit Tommyjohn.com/PBN to save 15% on your first or...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #515 - On today's episode, Adam and Jill answer listener questions about their pets, snacks, non-book related life interests, and a whole bunch more. We'll get back to your regularly scheduled book recommendation content on Monday but this felt like a good time to pause for a brief moment and answer your questions! Jill's campus crime novel blogs mentioned in the podcast: 1st list: https://company.overdrive.com/2020...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #514 - On today's episode, Adam sits down with bestselling author Max Brooks. They chat about his latest books Devolution and Minecraft: The Mountain. They also discuss his lifetime love of audiobooks, growing up in a house filled with storytelling, and the importance of teachers. Sponsor: Literati Kids – Visit http://www.Literati.com/ProBookNerds for 25% off your first two orders Get some PBN and Libby Swag - http://shop....
Share
Mark as Played
Eo. #513 - Everything feels really tough right now so if, like us, you need a distraction consider getting lost in one of these fictional worlds. Books mentioned in this episode Folk of the Air series by Holly Black Oryx and Crake By Margaret Atwood The Giver by Lois Lowry The Crane Wife By Patrick Ness Take a Hint, Dani Brown By Talia Hibbert The Princess Bride by William Goldman Fangirl By Rainbow Rowell On Stranger Tides By Tim...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #512 - Adam is joined by Robert Jones, Jr., debut author of The Prophets and creator of the popular Son of Baldwin online community and blog. Robert's new book is receiving praise as a potential book of the year for its groundbreaking storytelling, immaculate prose, and shattering the notion of sexuality and love. This conversation was compelling and touched on not just the novel itself, but its connection to the current mo...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #511- Jill and Adam are back together sharing their most recent reads before getting into their own reading resolutions for 2021 Then, they offer up book recommendations for one of the tasks on the Professional Book Nerds 2021 Reading Challenge- Read a book published in the 1990s. Take a listen! Sponsor: Kencko - Be one of the first 100 listeners to visit http://kencko.com/pbn for 25% off your first order of ready to enjoy smoo...
Share
Mark as Played
January 4, 2021 51 min
Ep. #510 - Happy New Year, nerds! We're ushering 2021 with an author and a book that people are sure to be talking about all year long. Ashley Audrain's debut novel, The Push, has been generating buzz since it's massive 9 publishing house auction and now it's about to finally be released. This stunning thriller about motherhood and family is impossible to put down and will genuinely take your breath away. Learn more...
Share
Mark as Played
December 28, 2020 33 min
Ep. #509 - We're saying goodbye to 2020 in the best way we know how... by looking forward to the first month of 2021 and a whole bundle of new book releases to talk about! Books mentioned in this episode The Push By Ashley Audrain One of the Good Ones by Maika and Maritza Moulite Concrete Rose By Angie Thomas The Wife Upstairs By Rachel Hawkins Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne The Charmed Wife By Olga Grushin Unplugged by Go...
Share
Mark as Played
Ep. #508 - Happy holidays! On this special podcast crossover event, Adam joins our friends from the popular Reading Glasses podcast to discuss the Charles Dickens classic story A Christmas Carol and the truly perfect adaptation from The Muppets. This was the podcast Adam was always destined to record. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About Professional Book Nerds

Advertise With Us

Popular Podcasts

True Crime Podcast Trailers
The Breakfast Club
The Breakfast Club
The World's Most Dangerous Morning Show, The Breakfast Club, With DJ Envy, Angela Yee And Charlamagne Tha God!
Fake Doctors, Real Friends with Zach and Donald
Fake Doctors, Real Friends with Zach and Donald
You know what's long, tedious and boring? Surgery. You know what isn't? This new podcast! Join Scrubs co-stars and real-life best friends Zach Braff and Donald Faison for a weekly comedy podcast where they relive the hit TV show, one episode at a time. Each week, these BFFs will discuss an episode of Scrubs, sharing behind-the-scenes stories and reminiscing on some of their favorite memories from filming. They’ll also connect with Scrubs super fans and feature beloved show cast members for exclusive interviews.

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.