Hidden Voices

Hidden Voices

The people you will meet here are kids, young adults, college students, athletes, employees, adults, entrepreneurs, siblings, parents – all with a story. These are funny, heartwarming, challenging stories about people with developmental disabilities who are living, working and advocating for their rights – and disability rights in Georgia. All want to be included in social circles, workplaces and communities of their choice. Just like all of us. We explore issues that impact their lives like Medicaid waivers, employment, housing, transportation, advocacy, adaptive technology, and service animals.... Show More

Episodes

December 11, 2019 29 min
Hidden Voices wraps up Season 1 with a 360 review of where we're at in the state of Georgia in how we treat people with developmental disabilities. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Callie Moore: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/callie-moore Michael Griggs: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/michael-griggs Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https:/...
Read more
Share
Mark as Played
December 4, 2019 30 min
Hidden Voices explores employment options for people with disabilities and the Employment First movement. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Nanditha Isaac: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/nandi-isaac Chad Roberts: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/chad-roberts Tira harper: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/tira-harper Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta ...
Read more
Share
Mark as Played
November 27, 2019 29 min
Hidden Voices explores the complicated worlds of housing and transportation for people with developmental disabilities in Georgia. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Evan Dewey: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/evan-dewey Parker Glick: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/parker-glick Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 
Share
Mark as Played
November 20, 2019 28 min
Hidden Voices explores one of the most interesting times in the life cycle of people with a developmental disabilities - trying to decide what happens when they graduate from high school. We learn about an exciting program called IPSE, Inclusive Post-Secondary Education. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. The Fam Squad: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/the-f...
Read more
Share
Mark as Played
November 13, 2019 35 min
Hidden Voices explores the network of Parent Mentors across the state of Georgia and the extraordinary advocacy efforts of people when developmental disabilities are a part of your life. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Yvette Pegues: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/yvette-pegues Joseph Grillo: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/joseph-grillo Matthew Ladd:...
Read more
Share
Mark as Played
Hidden Voices explores the tools people with developmental disabilities use to live more independent lives, from speech technology to service animals. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Kyleigh Kramlich: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/kyleigh-kramlich Jake Ricks: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/jake-ricks John McCarty: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/j...
Read more
Share
Mark as Played
October 30, 2019 27 min
Hidden Voices takes a deep dive into the definition, history, and context of developmental disabilities in Georgia and the Supreme Court cases that set the precedence for how we treat people today. Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 
Share
Mark as Played
October 9, 2019 2 min
Get excited about the upcoming season of Hidden Voices, the upcoming podcast which travels the state of Georgia, uncovering the stories of people with developmental disabilities.
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About Hidden Voices

Popular Podcasts

Crime Junkie
Stuff You Should Know
Stuff You Should Know
If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.
Dateline NBC
Dateline NBC
Current and classic episodes, featuring compelling true-crime mysteries, powerful documentaries and in-depth investigations.
    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2020 iHeartMedia, Inc.