This Queer Book Saved My Life

This Queer Book Saved My Life

A 2024 GLAAD Media Award Nominee for Outstanding Podcast! Fans of On Being and Los Culturistas love this indie where LGBTQ guests share the queer books that saved their lives with the authors who wrote them. Featuring Carmen Maria Machado, Alison Bechdel, Jennifer Finney Boylan, Greg Louganis, Becky Albertalli, and so many more, guests from across the rainbow tell these authors how their books helped them overcome alienation, gender dysphoria, familial homophobia, and being outed. Essayist, educator, and Lambda Literary Fellow J.P. Der Boghossian hosts the conversations with a gentle and energetic style, standing in as conversational partner for posthumous authors. Bonus features in off-weeks include the LGBT podcasts 7 Minutes in Book Heaven, where J.P. interviews queer authors about their exciting new releases for us to love and cuddle up with and new episodes of The Gaily Show celebrating LGBTQ culture and entertainment.

Episodes

April 16, 2024 51 mins

All the love in our queer families.

Today we meet Archie Arnold and we’re talking about the book that saved his life: Love Lives Here: A Story of Thriving in a Transgender Family by Rowan Jetté Knox.

Archie is a grant writer working at a community college in Minnesota. His career in grants and fundraising spans twenty years.

Rowan Jetté Knox is an author, speaker and human rights advocate. His work in LGB...

Mark as Played

A new episode of This Queer Book Saved My Life drops next week on April 16th! In our off weeks, we air the most recent episode of The Gaily Show which J.P. hosts for AM950 Radio.

On today’s episode, Stephanie Miller joins us to talk about her upcoming Sexy Liberal Save the World Tour which kicks off in Minneapolis on April 13. Plus, F.T. Lukens has a new queer YA novel that just came out on April 2nd. They join us to talk all about ...

Mark as Played
April 2, 2024 33 mins

As gay kids we have to get through so much that we end up not remembering a lot of our childhoods.

Today we meet K Jason Bryan and we’re talking about the book that saved his life: Becoming A Man: Half A Life Story by Paul Monette.

Jason is a Sr Client Consultant for corporate insurance, and used to chair his company’s LGBT & Allies ERG. He is a former member of the Governors Board at the Human Rights Campaig...

Mark as Played

No one ever told me that I could be divine. That my sexuality was a gift.

Today we meet Sandy Hope and we’re talking about the book that saved her life: Swinging on the Garden Gate by Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew. And Elizabeth joins us for the conversation!

Sandy is a licensed mental health counselor whose practice focuses Internal Family Systems theory. She works with people around sexuality, spirituality, couples t...

Mark as Played

Everyone calls me ma'am on the phone. I love it.

Today we meet Jacob Budenz and we’re talking about the book that saved their life: Dress Your Family In Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris.

Jacob is a true multi-hyphenate: musician, author, performance artist, director, and witch. Jacob published their new book Tea Leaves in 2023 and is the front person for the band Moth Broth.

Dress Your Family In C...

Mark as Played

When a closeted queer kid meets his fairy godfather what does he wish for?

Today we meet Ricardo Galaviz and we’re talking about the book that saved his life: Am I Blue? by Bruce Coville. And Bruce joins us for the conversation!

Ricardo (all pronouns) is the Associate Director of the Milwaukee LGBT Center.

Bruce (he/him) is the author of over 100 books including My Teacher is an Alien, Into the Land of U...

Mark as Played
February 6, 2024 28 mins

A tomboy who wants to be Perry Mason (and has a crush on Della) included this book on job applications.

Today we meet Jean M. Gustafson and we’re talking about the book that saved her life: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Jean M. Gustafson is a seasoned attorney who specializes in various branches of law, including employment law, elder law, criminal and family law. She is licensed in the states of Minnesota,...

Mark as Played
January 30, 2024 15 mins

Are you ready to un-ban LGBT books in real time? 

I share with you about The Banned Book Club and then I sit down with the head of the project: John Bracken who is the Executive Director of The Digital Public Library of America.

How to start reading: 

  1. Download the Palace Project App for iOS or Android in the Apple App store or Google Play.
  2. Open the app
  3. Select Banned Book Club
  4. Start reading!

Banned Book Club website: the...

Mark as Played
January 23, 2024 44 mins

It was such a catharsis that I took the book into the woods and acted out scenes from it.

Today we meet Leon Acord and we’re talking about the book that saved his  life: The Front Runner by Patricia Nell Warren.

Leon Acord is the author of the memoirs Expletives Not Deleted and Sub-Lebrity: The Queer Life of a Showbiz Footnote. Leon created, wrote, and starred in the TV series Old Dogs & New Tricks on Amazon P...

Mark as Played

You go to his place to hook up. The book that saves your life is on his coffee table.

Today we meet Philip Anthony and we’re talking about the book that saved his  life: The Homosexualization of America by Dennis Altman. And Dennis joins us for the conversation!

Philip is based in Minneapolis and is host of the podcast The Downright Upright Show.

Dennis is the son of Jewish refugees, and a writer and acad...

Mark as Played

Today, we meet Jeff Billington and his new novel: Summer's Second.

In this novel, Asher Brock’s last summer of youth is far from ideal. His hopes for the future, including an escape from his constricting Ozark Mountains hometown, seem increasingly fragile as he faces hurdles of poverty and abuse, all while coming to terms with being gay.

Jeff Billington is the author of Chicken Dinner News and Summer's S...

Mark as Played
December 12, 2023 39 mins

My eighth grade brain was like: they're such great friends AND they kiss on the mouth?! That's great!

Today we meet Maya Williams and we’re talking about the book that saved their  life: The Color Purple by Alice Walker.

Maya Williams (ey/em, they/them, and she/her) is a religious Black multiracial nonbinary suicide survivor who is currently an Ashley Bryan Fellow and the seventh Poet Laureate of Portlan...

Mark as Played

Without this book, I wouldn't have become me. And I guess I'd be married to a man.

Today we meet Adrineh Der Boghossian and we’re talking about the book that saved her life: Princess Freak by Nancy Agabian. And Nancy joins us for the conversation!

Princess Freak documents through poetry and prose texts Nancy's coming-of-age of as a shy, funny, bisexual Armenian-American woman who flees the small tow...

Mark as Played

Today, Once Upon a Crime Books presents 7 Minutes in Book Heaven, the podcast where we interview LGBTQ authors about the new books they have coming out for us to love and cuddle up with.

Once Upon a Crime Books is an independent bookstore specializing in mystery fiction. Located in Uptown Minneapolis, you can shop in their store Monday through Saturday 11am – 5:30pm. Or, visit their website! There, you can browse all of th...

Mark as Played
November 14, 2023 33 mins

Ancient queer Greek love. The Easter Bunny. And everything in between.

Today we meet Christina Bagni and we’re talking about the book that saved her life The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller.

Christina is an editor, host of Classics and Chill, and the author of the YA novel My Only Real Friend is the Easter Bunny at the Mall.

For Christina, The Song of Achilles not only helped her to process a painful ...

Mark as Played
October 31, 2023 33 mins

You didn't realize you'd end up reading a charming gay couple's 3,100 love letters. 

Today we meet Scott Bane and we’re talking about the book that launched a life-saving journey for him: American Renaissance by F.O. Matthiessen.

Scott is a Program Officer at the John A. Hartford Foundation and author of A Union Like Ours: The Love Story of F.O. Matthiessen and Russel Cheney.

Imagine coming...

Mark as Played

I knew something was wrong, but what? This book helped me realize I have a disability. And it's treatable.

Today we meet David-Elijah Nahmod and we’re talking about the book that saved his life: Blind: A Memoir by Belo Miguel Cipriani. And Belo joins us for the conversation!

David-Elijah Nahmod is a freelance journalist in San Francisco, who writes for publications all over the country and in Canada.

Mark as Played

We meet Dianna Hunter and her new novel Clouded Waters which releases today: October 10!

What's it about? When a local water scientist goes missing, newspaper owner Susan B. Ellingson follows a trail of evidence from a tiny, off-grid community into a global tangle of lies, corruption, whistleblowing, and danger. All the while her mother-in-law leads a group of Ojibwe and Métis grandmothers fighting to protect the wate...

Mark as Played
October 3, 2023 41 mins

 Coming out wasn’t a switch that fixed everything. This book explained why.

Today we meet Chris Tompkins and we’re talking about the book that saved Chris' life: The Velvet Rage by Alan Downs.

Chris is an LGTBQ affirmative therapist and author of the new book Raising LGBTQ Allies: A Parent's Guide to Changing the Messages from the Playground.

In The Velvet Rage, psychologist Alan Downs draws on ...

Mark as Played
September 19, 2023 44 mins

I had no queer friends. I kept going to the same bookstore hoping a girl would hit on me.

Welcome to our new season! Today we meet Leslie Vincent and Michelle Tea!

We’re talking about the book that saved Leslie's life: Valencia by Michelle Tea.

As a music maker, Leslie Vincent performs jazz and the great American Songbook. She released her new album About Last Night earlier this year.

Michel...

Mark as Played

Popular Podcasts

    Current and classic episodes, featuring compelling true-crime mysteries, powerful documentaries and in-depth investigations.

    Death, Sex & Money

    Anna Sale explores the big questions and hard choices that are often left out of polite conversation.

    Stuff You Should Know

    If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks, then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.

    Crime Junkie

    If you can never get enough true crime... Congratulations, you’ve found your people.

    Start Here

    A straightforward look at the day's top news in 20 minutes. Powered by ABC News. Hosted by Brad Mielke.

Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.

Connect

© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.