Death Cab For Cutie Rocks Out At iHeartRadio Album Release Party

By Lauren Crawford

August 16, 2018


Just one day before the release of their ninth studio album, Thank You For Today, Death Cab for Cutie took the iHeartRadio stage for their album release party. The intimate show in Los Angeles featured not only songs from their new album but also quite a few fan-favorites from their previous records. 

The band kicked off their show with a performance of their latest single, "Gold Rush," before giving the audience a throwback to 2015 by performing "The Ghosts of Beverly Drive." 

In addition to giving their fans a mix of their old and new sound, Death Cab's lead singer, Benjamin Gibbard, discussed what he believed has been key to their success for the past 20 years.

"The way we've used guitars over the years [is what I believe we've done best]," Ben told the crowd. "When the band started, there was this desire to not really have anybody play cords as much as to have everybody weaving in and out of each other and create this kind of like [knitting effect]... And I think that's a sound people love about the band, and the thing I love most when we play those old songs."

He continued: "So for me, I realized I really wanted to get back to writing songs on the guitar [for the new album]. I really wanted something relatable to the older material [while] also utilizing new technologies and the new wonderful people we have in this band."

The band then went on to play "You Are A Tourist" from their 2011 album, Codes and Keys, and "Autumn Love," which is off of their new album, Thank You For Today.

Keeping with their past- and present-filled set, the band played three new tracks: "Your Hurricane," "Northern Lights," and "I Dreamt We Spoke Again." Death Cab also performed a few more retro tracks, including, "I Will Follow You Into The Dark," and "Soul Meets Body."

The band ended their set with their 2005 single, "Crooked Teeth," from their album, Plans.

Thank You For Today comes after Death Cab's 2015 album Kintsugi. It features 10 new songs, including their single "Gold Rush," which the band released back in June

The record's release date coincidentally falls on the 20th anniversary of the release of Death Cab's first album, You Can Play These Songs with Chords

Thank You For Today drops Friday (August 17) via Atlantic Records.

iHeartRadio LIVE with Death Cab For Cutie Set List:

"Gold Rush"

"The Ghosts Of Beverly Drive"

"You Are A Tourist"

"Autumn Love"

"Soul Meets Body"

"I Dreamt We Spoke Again"

"Your Hurricane"

"I Will Follow You Into The Dark"

"Northern Lights"

"Crooked Teeth"

See more exclusive content from Death Cab For Cutie's iHeartRadio Album Release Party below!

Photo: Wes and Alex for iHeartRadio

Chat About Death Cab For Cutie Rocks Out At iHeartRadio Album Release Party