T-Pain to Host 2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards

By Taylor Fields

March 7, 2019


You saw him win the inaugural season of The Masked Singer as "the monster," and now see T-Pain return to the stage on March 14th as he hosts the 2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards!

T-Pain won the very first season of FOX's The Masked Singer, and then celebrated by dropping his newest album 1UP, which features collaborations with artists like Lil Wayne, Tory Lanez, Boosie Badazz, O.T. Genasis, and more. Now, he's continuing the party at this year's iHeartRadio Music Awards. He says of hosting this year's festivities:

"The blessings keep rolling in. I am grateful and honored to host this year's iHeartRadio Music Awards. The past two weeks have been incredible and the run continues. Thank you to everyone for all of the love and support. A special thanks to the iHeart team for having me."

iHeartMedia is also partnering with popular short-form mobile video app TikTok to present seven iHeartRadio Music Awards in the seven days leading up to the Thursday, March 14th telecast, beginning on March 7th. Awards will be presented in the categories of Alternative Rock Album of the Year, Country Album of the Year, Rock Album of the Year, Dance Artist of the Year, Most Thumbed Up Artist of the Year, Dance Album of the Year and Cutest Musician’s Pet. Then, winning artists will be presented their awards and give acceptance speeches that will air exclusively on the TikTok app each morning at 8:00 AM ET.

In addition, TikTok will partner with iHeartRadio to capture exclusive red carpet content available to fans @iHeart on TikTok. The iHeartRadio Music Awards red carpet live stream will be available on iHeartRadio’s Facebook page and hosted by TikTok’s Nick Tangorra and iHeartRadio’s Elvis Duran, Danielle Monaro, Medha Gandhi and Maxwell, as well as iHeartRadio’s social correspondent Ellie Lee. 

The 2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards takes place on Thursday, March 14th and will air live from the Microsoft Theater on FOX at 8pm ET/PT, as well on the FoxNow streaming app. The show will also be broadcast live on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and iHeartRadio.

This year's iHeartRadio Music Awards will feature performances from Alicia Keys, Ariana Grande, Halsey, Garth Brooks, John Legend and Kacey Musgraves, with more to be announced.

Nominees for this year's awards were revealed on January 9th and artists who received multiple nominations include stars like Cardi B, Drake, Ariana Grande, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Maroon 5 and Imagine Dragons.

Several honors will be presented throughout the night. Garth Brooks will be recognized with the first-ever iHeartRadio Artist of the Decade Award, while Alicia Keys will receive this year's iHeartRadio Innovator Award. And L'Oréal Paris and iHeartRadio will also present Halsey with the 2019 Fangirls Award, which recognizes a female artist who has pushed boundaries with her music and message while inspiring her fans around the globe. 

Additionally, Taylor Swift will receive the honor for Tour of the Year Award for her "reputation" Stadium Tour. Last year, T-Swift traveled across the world in support of her sixth studio album reputation, and the tour broke the singer's own record for highest-grossing tour by a woman with over 2 million tickets sold in the U.S. alone and grossing $266 million (it's the highest selling U.S. tour in history by any artist). And if you went to any of Taylor's "reputation" Tour dates or saw the Netflix special, then you already know all about her impressive stage setup and special effects.

Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.