The Struts Drop New Single ‘Strange Days’ & Reveal Album Release Date

By Eliot Hill

September 3, 2020

The Struts are gearing up to release their third album!

On Wednesday (September 2), the band took to social media to announce the name and release date for their upcoming album and also dropped a song off the project.

“Finding all of our grand plans for 2020 canceled or postponed early this year, we gathered together safely in the studio and wrote and recorded the entire album in just ten days,” the band explained on Instagram. “It was undoubtedly a magical ten days for us—and we hope when you hear the album, it gives you a taste of that magic too.”

Titled Strange Days, the new album will be out next month on October 16. Pre-orders for Strange Days are available now on CD, cassette, or a digital download.

In addition to announcing the album news, The Struts have teamed up with Robbie Williams for the title track, “Strange Days,” which was released worldwide on Thursday (September 3).

View this post on Instagram

Ladies and gentlemen, today we are very pleased to announce our new single and new album, STRANGE DAYS. We are honoured to have one of our musical heroes, the legendary @RobbieWilliams, featured on the title track which debuted today on @bbcradio2 and will be available to stream and download everywhere at 5pm UK/12pm ET/9am PT. Finding all of our grand plans for 2020 canceled or postponed early this year, we gathered together safely in the studio and wrote and recorded the entire album in just ten days. It was undoubtedly a magical ten days for us—and we hope when you hear the album, it gives you a taste of that magic too. STRANGE DAYS will be available 16th October and album preorders will be available beginning 6pm UK/1pm ET/10am PT at thestruts.com. Thank you all so much for your continued support and we hope these songs bring you some joy in these Strange Days x

A post shared by The Struts (@thestruts) on

The ballad, which is a perfect anthem for quarantine, is an ode to the weird times we're living in and finding the bit of optimism and gratitude “in this crazy world.”

In the chorus, lead singer Luke Spiller sings, “Oh these are strange days / In many strange ways / Science Fiction I believе / Has become reality” while Williams follows with the lyrics, “Oh thеse are strange times / Lost in our mi-minds / We don't know, it's unclear / Where we'll be this time next year.”

The new song comes just days after The Struts surprise dropped their first new song in a year, “Another Hit Of Showmanship” and the album will be the followup to 2018's Young & Dangerous.

Photo: Getty Images

The StrutsRobbie Williams

Chat About The Struts Drop New Single ‘Strange Days’ & Reveal Album Release Date

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.