Amy Lee Slams Gene Simmons For Calling Female-Fronted Rock A 'Genre'

By Katrina Nattress

July 13, 2021

Photo: AFP

Earlier this year, Gene Simmons doubled down on his "rock is dead" mindset, but it was another statement the KISS frontman made that infuriated Amy Lee.

In that same article where he said that, he says something more offensive. He totally called being a woman in rock, like a female rock band, a 'genre.' They’re making cool things, but, you know, for 'the female genre.' Everything else you ever say, I’m done listening to you," the Evanescence singer said during a round-table discussion with Halestorm's Lzzy Hale, The Pretty Reckless' Taylor Momsen and In This Moment's Maria Brink. "And I think that’s part of the massive problem. Eventually, the way that we fix this is that those people will no longer be involved in this community, and the young generation and trailblazers like all of yourselves will continue to support this message of: 'Fuck it, don’t ‘female-front’ me.' That’s not a genre."

Evanescence and Halestorm hit the road together this Fall. Check out a full list of tour dates below.

Evanescence and Halestorm tour dates

Fri, Nov 5 - Portland, OR - Veterans Memorial Coliseum

Sun, Nov 7 - Seattle, WA - Climate Pledge Arena

Tues, Nov 9 - San Jose, CA - SAP Center at San Jose

Fri, Nov 12 - Las Vegas, NV - The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas - The Chelsea

Sat, Nov 13 - San Diego, CA - San Diego State University - Viejas Arena

Mon, Nov 15 - Phoenix, AZ - Arizona Federal Theatre

Sat, Nov 20 - Fort Worth, TX - Dickies Arena

Thu, Dec 2 - Duluth, GA - Infinite Energy Arena

Sun, Dec 5 - Saint Louis, MO - Saint Louis University - Chaifetz Arena

Sat, Dec 11 - Detroit, MI - Little Caesars Arena

Sun, Dec 12 - Cincinnati, OH - Heritage Bank Center

Tue, Dec 14 - Pittsburgh, PA - University of Pittsburgh - Petersen Events Center

Wed, Dec 15 - Newark, NJ - Prudential Center

Fri, Dec 17 - Camden, NJ - BB&T Pavilion

Sat, Dec 18 - Worcester, MA - DCU Center

EvanescenceKiss
Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.