Twenty One Pilots cover My Chemical Romance At Summerfest: Watch

By Katrina Nattress

September 6, 2021

Photo: Ashley Osborn

Twenty One Pilots played their first proper show since 2019 this weekend during Summerfest, and they did not disappoint. The duo live-debuted songs off their latest album Scaled and Icy ("Good Day," "No Chances") and sprinkled a number of covers into their 20-song set — most notably breaking into My Chemical Romance's "I'm Not Okay" in the middle of their own song "Shy Away." They also introduced fans to their new backing band.

If this is any indication of what to expect at their upcoming TAKEØVER TOUR, it's going to be one for the ages. Of course, festival-goers were equipped with phones and made sure to document the epic MCR cover. Watch footage and see TOP's full setlist below.

Twenty One Pilots' Summerfest 2021 Setlist

1. Good Day (live debut; first verse and chorus)

Dema Commercial

2. No Chances (live debut)

3. Stressed Out

4. Morph / Holding On To You

5. Heathens

6. The Outside (with backing band introductions)

7. Message Man (first time live since2017)

Clancy Letter / Stay Low Intro

8. Lane Boy (with snippets of Nico And The Niners and Redecorate)

9. Chlorine

10. Mulberry Street (with Sing It Out intro)

11. Formidable / Doubt / Tear in My Heart (acoustic; live debut of Formidable)

12. I Can See Clearly Now / Home / My Girl / House Of Gold / We Don’t Believe What’s OnTV(acoustic; Johnny Nash, Edward Sharpe& The Magnetic Zeros, and The Temptations covers)

13. Jumpsuit (with Halo Rock intro)

14. Heavydirtysoul (shortened)

15. Saturday (with drum island)

16. Level Of Concern (with Low Rider by WAR intro; shortened)

17. Ride (crowd stand; shortened)

18. Car Radio (without backing band)

19. Shy Away (with TMNT intro and snippet of I’m Not Okay by My Chemical Romance)

20. Trees (without backing band)

Twenty One Pilots
Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.


© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.