All Episodes

August 12, 2020 48 min
Today my guest is Dara Sampson, a Social Worker, Teacher and Researcher. Dara uses fiction, and other literature, in her social work teaching. Her creative and innovative “book club” approach, which she used as her form of action research for her PhD encourages and supports a safe and comfortable context for students to develop empathy, critical thinking and interpersonal skills. Dara’s approach, which she has used in her teaching over a six year period also facilitates students’ exploration of potentially complex and challenging social work theories, ideas and issues including ethics, values, grief and loss, social disadvantage, equity, social justice, race and other discrimination, child protection and issues related to gender. With social work theories spontaneously emerging and safely interwoven into collegial conversations, students are then able to place these conceptual and theoretical ideas into a story, into their own experiences of that story and into their application to real life. Links: https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/dara-sampson Written on the Body (Jeanette Winterson) http://www.jeanettewinterson.com/book/written-on-the-body/ Levels of Life (Julian Barnes) http://www.julianbarnes.com/books/levels.html Eating Fire (Margaret Atwood) https://www.hachette.com.au/margaret-atwood/eating-fire-selected-poetry-1965-1995 Morning in the Burned House (Margaret Atwood) https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/6110/morning-in-the-burned-house-by-margaret-atwood/9780771008337 One Hundred Years of Dirt (Rick Morton) https://trove.nla.gov.au/work/232429785 Blue Nights (Joan Didion) https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/40773/blue-nights-by-joan-didion/9780307387387/readers-guide/ H is for Hawke (Helen McDonald) https://www.penguin.com.au/books/h-is-for-hawk-9780099575450 Grief is the Thing with Feathers (Max Porter) https://www.allenandunwin.com/browse/books/fiction/literary-fiction/Grief-is-the-Thing-with-Feathers-Max-Porter-9780571327232 Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/6125/the-handmaids-tale-by-margaret-atwood/ Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card) https://us.macmillan.com/books/9780812550702 A Darker Shade of Magic (V. E. Schwab) https://us.macmillan.com/books/9780765376466 Dyschronia (Jennifer Mills) http://www.jenjen.com.au/blog/books-dyschronia Jasper Jones (Craig Silvey) https://www.allenandunwin.com/browse/books/fiction/Jasper-Jones-Craig-Silvey-9781760295929
Share
Mark as Played

Chat About Perspectives in Parryville

Advertise With Us

Popular Podcasts

Crime Junkie
Stuff You Should Know

Stuff You Should Know

If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.

Fake Doctors, Real Friends with Zach and Donald

Fake Doctors, Real Friends with Zach and Donald

You know what's long, tedious and boring? Surgery. You know what isn't? This new podcast! Join Scrubs co-stars and real-life best friends Zach Braff and Donald Faison for a weekly comedy podcast where they relive the hit TV show, one episode at a time. Each week, these BFFs will discuss an episode of Scrubs, sharing behind-the-scenes stories and reminiscing on some of their favorite memories from filming. They’ll also connect with Scrubs super fans and feature beloved show cast members for exclusive interviews.

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.