Webcomics Reviews And Interviews

Webcomics Reviews And Interviews

WCRI is a webcomic podcast devoted to the creation and monetization of webcomics. There are how-to shows on how to create, draw, write, and market webcomics, as well as reviews on webcomics. There are also interview shows with creators, businessmen and others involved with webcomics. In short, if you want to create and make money from webcomics, this is where you start. https://vurbl.com/station/87AfMj7qUcp/ Check out our Patreon page (https://www.patreon.com/twosparrows) and merch pages (https://www.zazzle.com/store/jamaisj/products) to support the show.

Episodes

June 30, 2021 39 min
The biggest problem for most self-publishers is where to actually publish their books. We look at the differences between print on demand, hybrid publishing, offset printing, vanity printing, and traditional printing. We also look briefly at the services you need to make your book look great and how to sell it.
Share
Mark as Played
I've been gone from podcasting and blogging due to colon cancer, and I'm coming back. Also, the state of the empire is discussed.
The Zazzle Store: https://www.zazzle.com/store/jamaisj
The Patreon Page: https://www.patreon.com/creator-home
Share
Mark as Played
July 1, 2020 47 min
This episode is all about how to create your business from the beginning: It includes the kind of paperwork to look for, how to create business and marketing plans, and how to get people to your site. We also look at SEO and merchandise. In short, this podcast is for those serious about what they do.

https://vurbl.com/station/87AfMj7qUcp/
Share
Mark as Played
June 10, 2020 54 min
We discuss how to grow your business with Daniel Vivarelli, and how you can grow it so that it helps not only you but also the environment. We discuss his history, his business theory, and what exactly "regenerative entrepreneurship" means for you.

His sites: https://danielvivarelli.com/ and https://starloop.com/
Share
Mark as Played
June 4, 2020 53 min
Interview with the couple known as Metaphrog (John Chalmers and Sandra Marrs). We look at how they create some of the best comics together, why they use different media (from acrylics to digital), and how their personal histories link up to the history of comics in general.

Their SIte; http://metaphrog.com/
Share
Mark as Played
Interview with Brandon Shapiro and Matt Miller about their musical podcast "Relying on the Benjamins". We discuss the importance of having a bible and a plan, when you should stick to your script and when to improvise. Lastly, we discuss how two people can make a great product.

Their Site: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/id1492771359
Share
Mark as Played
May 22, 2020 52 min
We discuss how to create a successful business by taking small steps towards success and how "fake it until you make it" doesn't work. Also, the perfect chicken meal for dating is discussed, and we delve into voice acting (I had to; it's Spike FREAKIN' Spencer!).

HIs site: https://www.spikespencer.com/
Share
Mark as Played
May 14, 2020 46 min
The extreme nuts and bolts of running your business are explored, such as the importance of a schedule, why you should look at numbers, how to use reviews to help your business (even bad ones), and why you should avoid rebranding.
Share
Mark as Played
May 8, 2020 49 min
We sit down with writer Boum, Canadian artist. She is mostly known for Boumeries, a journal webcomic, and for A Small Revolution. We discuss the fun and travails of putting out a journalistic webcomic, the scheduling issues, and how to make it work. We also look at the difference between working with a publisher and self-publishing, as well as how to move on.

Her Portfolio: https://www.boumfolio.com/
Shout out to her friend Cab: htt...
Share
Mark as Played
April 30, 2020 43 min
Selling comics in the age of COVID-19 is impossible as conventions cancel and book shops are closed. We look at economic models to show how you can sell, how emotion can help you sell, why digital downloads are your friends, merch you can sell for those on a budget, how to promote using networks, and arguably the worst pep talk ever.
Share
Mark as Played
April 21, 2020 45 min
We sit down with prolific writer/illustrator Ryan Estrada and discuss his books "Student Ambassador", "Broken Telephone", "Banned Book Club". We look at the advantages of exploring the world, the importance of keeping in mind the differences in culture and language when writing, and ways of dealing with dialogue in your stories.

http://www.ryanestrada.com/
https://www.instagram.com/ryanestradadotcom/
Share
Mark as Played
We sit down with private investigator Michael "Ski" Jaczewski. We discuss the basics of interviewing a subject (great for writers), but also just how stringent companies guard their properties, what can happen if you get caught, and how to build a successful business.

His SIte: https://toltec.net/
Share
Mark as Played
April 10, 2020 45 min
We sit down with writer David Doub. We discuss Dusk Comics (his company), writing in general and crossover specifically, and how to best catch the spirit of two comics in the same crossover. We also discuss his Kickstarter, Dusk vs Cheerleader Karate School (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/demonsinthedarkness/dusk-vs-cheerleader-karate-school).

Please support WCRI by pledging our patreon page at https://www.patreon.com/twosparr...
Share
Mark as Played
April 4, 2020 46 min
We sit down with Kimberly Spencer. We discuss working from goals and the importance of failure and making mistakes when it comes to being successful. We also look at the importance of how your perception of yourself affects your success as well as the need for personal transformation. Also, some basic Amazon marketing tips are covered.

Her Site: https://crownyourself.com/
Share
Mark as Played
March 29, 2020 49 min
We sit down with author Trent Gander. We discuss plot and character development, how to improve the quality of your stories, expanding on characters to improve your stories, and using table-top game-mastering techniques for better stories. Basically, how to be a better writer by being a better game-master.

His Site: https://gentlemansuniversityofmanliness.wordpress.com/
Share
Mark as Played
March 20, 2020 47 min
We talk with Jim Sweeney about his creation, the sports character Mike. We discuss how hard it is to create and market a character, how a character can fill a specific niche, and what it takes to create and market a character, as well as looking at weird ways to market your character.

His Site: www.theemike.com
Share
Mark as Played
March 14, 2020 49 min
We sit down with Russel Nohety (http://thecompletecreative.com/) to discuss his new Kickstarter Project “Cthulhu is Hard to Spell: The Terrible Twos” (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/russellnohelty/cthulhu-is-hard-to-spell-a-2nd-lovecraft-comic-anthology). We discuss how to run a successful Kickstarter campaign, how to keep a sequel fresh, and how to coordinate a team of writers and artists to create a comic anthology.

Russel ...
Share
Mark as Played
March 6, 2020 41 min
Interview with Michael Son, Editor-in-Chief of Tapas Media (https://tapas.io/). We look at Tapas' latest releases, how it develops game and film projects based on its comic series, tips for indie creators, and how to brand new creators.

Tapas is an app for comics, available from the Apple App Store and Google Play. Launched in October 2012, it boasts 2.2 million readers for its 76,000 series. Tapas provides a best-in-class read...
Share
Mark as Played
February 29, 2020 50 min
Interview with Andrew Monroe, author of "A Leaf and Pebble" and podcaster ("Dead by Tomorrow"). We discuss how to build plots and character, some marketing, plotters versus pantsers, and general writing problems. Also, expect a lot of geeking out.

https://www.andrewamonroe.com/
https://www.deadxtomorrow.com
Share
Mark as Played
February 22, 2020 46 min
We sit down with writer/illustrator Perry Edwards and discuss his manga "Cold-Blooded", discuss who he is bringing his childhood dreams to fruition, and basically discuss what makes a good manga.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/perrys-hotter/cold-blooded-vol-1-manga-monster-battling-other-monsters/faqs
Share
Mark as Played

Popular Podcasts

    If you can never get enough true crime... Congratulations, you’ve found your people.

    The Daily

    This is what the news should sound like. The biggest stories of our time, told by the best journalists in the world. Hosted by Michael Barbaro. Twenty minutes a day, five days a week, ready by 6 a.m.

    Dateline NBC

    Current and classic episodes, featuring compelling true-crime mysteries, powerful documentaries and in-depth investigations.

    Stuff You Should Know

    If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.

    The Ben Shapiro Show

    Tired of the lies? Tired of the spin? Are you ready to hear the hard-hitting truth in comprehensive, conservative, principled fashion? The Ben Shapiro Show brings you all the news you need to know in the most fast moving daily program in America. Ben brutally breaks down the culture and never gives an inch! Monday thru Friday.

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.

    Connect

    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.

    • Help
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • AdChoicesAd Choices