Can You Predict The CMA Winners?

By Lauryn Snapp

November 8, 2018

On November 14th, a nationwide phenomenon will occur. Country music fans will gather near their television sets and await the well-known line, “And the CMA Award goes to…” Then, they will lean in simultaneously, listening hard as the winners are named for multiple highly coveted categories. This is often followed by an emotional response of either devastation or celebration. 

Are you a country fan who prides yourself on being able to "call the shots" when it comes to picking winners or maybe you are always placing your bet on the underdog? 

We want to help ensure you are prepped, primed, and ready for the “biggest night in country music.” Here is your full CMA nomination run down so that you can do just that! 

Tune in to watch Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood host the CMA Awards broadcasting live from Bridgestone Arena on Nov. 14 at 7 p.m. CT on ABC.

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan 

Kenny Chesney 

Keith Urban

Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae


New Artist of the Year

Lauren Alaina

Luke Combs

Chris Janson


Brett Young

Single of the Year (Awarded to Singer, Producer and Engineer)

“Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton Mix Engineer: Vance Powell

“Drinkin’ Problem” – Midland Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert) Producer: Michael Knox Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

“Meant to Be” – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line Producer: Willshire Mix Engineer: Serban Ghenea

“Tequila” – Dan + Shay Producers: Scott Hendricks, Dan Smyers Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano

Album of the Year

From A Room: Volume 2 – Chris Stapleton Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton

Golden Hour – Kacey Musgraves Producers: Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian, Kacey Musgraves

Graffiti U – Keith Urban Producers: Keith Urban, Dan McCarroll, J.R. Rotem, Josh Kerr, Jason Evigan, Greg Wells, Benny Blanco, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Jesse Shatkin, Jimmy Robbins, Oscar Holter, Matt Rad, Eric Valentine, Ian Kirkpatrick, Mike Elizondo, Captain Cuts, Ross Copperman, Dann Huff, Peter Karlsson

Life Changes – Thomas Rhett Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett

The Mountain – Dierks Bentley Producers: Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart, Arturo Buenahora Jr.

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum 


Little Big Town


Old Dominion

Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriters)

“Body Like A Back Road” – Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

“Broken Halos” – Songwriters: Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Songwriter: Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson

“Drunk Girl” – Songwriter: Scooter Carusoe, Tom Douglas, Chris Janson

“Tequila” – Songwriter: Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers

Musical Event of the Year

“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne

“Dear Hate” – Maren Morris (Feat. Vince Gill)

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” – David Lee Murphy (with Kenny Chesney)

“Meant to Be” – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line

Music Video of the Year (Awarded to Artist & Director)

“Babe” – Sugarland (Featuring Taylor Swift) Director: Anthony Mandler

“Cry Pretty” – Carrie Underwood Director: Randee St. Nicholas

“Drunk Girl” – Chris Janson Director: Jeff Venable

“Marry Me” – Thomas Rhett Director: TK McKamy

“Tequila” – Dan + Shay Director: Patrick Tracy

Musician of the Year

Jerry Douglas, Dobro

Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar

Dann Huff, Guitar

Mac McAnally, Guitar

Derek Wells, Guitar



Photo Credit: Getty Images.  


Jason AldeanLuke BryanKenny ChesneyCarrie UnderwoodMaren MorrisMiranda LambertKeith UrbanChris StapletonThomas RhettLuke CombsDierks BentleyBrothers OsborneMaddie & TaeSugarlandDan + ShayFlorida Georgia LineLauren AlainaChris JansonMidlandBrett YoungBrad Paisley

Chat About Can You Predict The CMA Winners?

Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


© 2020 iHeartMedia, Inc.