Weezer Surprise Releases Covers Collection Called 'The Teal Album'

By Katrina Nattress

January 24, 2019

While we've all been waiting patiently for Weezer to drop their highly anticipated Black Album in March, the band went and surprised us by releasing another album out of the blue (er, teal).

On Thursday (January 24), the SoCal rockers released The Teal Album. "It’s us covering everyone else’s hits," the band wrote in their announcement tweet, and they're right. The cover album came into fruition when Weezer began working cover songs into their sets during their summer tour of 2018. Of course, their rendition of Toto's "Africa" was a hit, and they decided to create a compilation of their favorite covers.

The result is a 10-song collection that features "Africa," along with covers of iconic songs like "Billie Jean," "Take on Me," and "Happy Together."

Check out Weezer's announcement and The Teal Album track list below.

Weezer (The Teal Album) track list

1.  Africa (Toto)

2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Tears for Fears)

3. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) (The Eurythmics)

4. Take On Me (a-ha)

5. Happy Together (The Turtles)

6. Paranoid (Black Sabbath)

7. Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)

8. No Scrubs (TLC)

9. Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)

10. Stand By Me (Ben E. King)

The Black Album is still slated for a March 1st release, and then Weezer hits the road with Pixies for a spring tour. 

The band's cover of "Africa" is up for an  iHeartRadio Music Award this year for "Best Alternative Song of the Year." Find out who will be taking home an award this year by tuning into FOX on March 14th where the show will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles from  8-10pm ET/PT.

Advertise With Us

For You

    Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeartRadio App.


    © 2021 iHeartMedia, Inc.