Mickey Guyton Speaks About The Gift, Note She Received From Beyoncé

By Kelly Fisher

June 12, 2024

Photo: Getty Images

Mickey Guyton shared what it meant to her to receive flowers and a heartfelt message from Beyoncé when she appeared on The Jennifer Hudson Show.

Guyton received flowers from Beyoncé after the Houston, Texas-born powerhouse released her highly-anticipated, country-themed album, COWBOY CARTER. The genre-blending record included collaborations with Dolly PartonWillie NelsonLinda Martell, Tanner ArdellBrittney SpencerTiera KennedyReyna Roberts and others. Beyoncé also recognized Guyton and her music when she sent the Remember Her Name star flowers to thank her for paving the way for other artists. Guyton previously shared photos on Instagram of the flowers and the note, which read: “Mickey, Thank you for opening doors for me, queen. Keep shining. Love and respect, Beyoncé.”

“I’ve been in country music for a long time, and it’s been so exciting to see, you know, Beyoncé come into this genre and sing so many incredible country songs. But, you know, I’ve been here for a long time,” Guyton told host and artist Jennifer Hudson as the audience applauded. Hudson noted that Beyoncé sent flowers “saying thank you for paving the way,” and asked how Guyton felt about that acknowledgement. “You know, whenever you are an activist or someone that speaks out, it comes with a price. And there are so many things, it was really, really, really, really hard mentally, emotionally. I got a lot of pushback, a lot of horrible things said to me, and it hurt. But then to see so many beautiful Black and brown people coming into country music, and getting their shot, and getting to pursue a genre that is all of us, and it is in the fabric of this nation, and Black people are at the very forefront of country music. It feels so good to be acknowledged by Beyonce for that. It really, really does.”

Guyton was previously revealed as the headliner of the latest installment of “CMT On Tour,” which will also include CMT Next Women of Country Denitia (2024) and Abbey Cone (2020). The tour kicks off in September, following a few recent releases from Guyton, including “Nothing Compares To You” with Kane Brown, “Woman,” “Scary Love” and “Make It Me.”

Wednesday, September 18 | Atlanta, GA | Buckhead Theatre

Friday, September 20 | Charlotte, NC | The Underground

Saturday, September 21 | Asheville, NC | The Orange Peel

Thursday, September 26 | Washington, DC | Union Stage

Friday, September 27 | New York, NY | The Gramercy Theatre

Saturday, September 28 | Pittsburgh, PA | Thunderbird Café and Music Hall

Wednesday, October 2 | Kansas City, MO | Knuckleheads*

Thursday, October 3 | Oklahoma City, OK | Beer City Music Hall*

Tuesday, October 15 | St. Louis, MO | Delmar Hall

Thursday, October 17 | Chicago, IL | Joe's on Weed St.

Friday, October 18 | Minneapolis, MN | First Ave*

Saturday, October 19 | Des Moines, IA | Wooly's

Tuesday, October 22 | Madison, WI | Majestic Theatre

Wednesday, October 23 | Ann Arbor, MI | Blind Pig

Friday, October 25 | Grand Rapids, MI | The Stache at The Intersection

Wednesday, October 30 | Columbus, OH | The Bluestone

Friday, November 1 | Buffalo, NY | Iron Works*

Saturday, November 2 | Toronto, ON | Velvet Underground

Monday, November 4 | Boston, MA | Brighton Music Hall

Wednesday, November 6 | Philadelphia, PA | World Cafe Live*

Friday, November 8 | Indianapolis, Indiana | The Hifi*

Saturday, November 9 | Lexington, KY | Manchester Music Hall

*Not a Live Nation Date

Mickey Guyton
Advertise With Us
Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.

Connect

© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.