All Episodes

March 4, 2024 31 mins

Sloppy Joe, Hot Brown, and the Reuben are all well-known sandwiches, and they are all named after people. Though the specific person is argued in two of these cases. 

Research:

  • “Bechamel.” Oxford Reference. https://www.oxfordreference.com/display/10.1093/oi/authority.20110803095454669
  • “Bechamel Sauce.” ChefIn. https://chefin.com.au/dictionary/bechamel-sauce/#:~:text=History%20of%20b%C3%A9chamel%20sauce,(wife%20of%20Henry%20II).
  • Beck, Katherine. “The Controversial Origins Of The Sloppy Joe.” Tasting Table. Jan. 26, 2023. https://www.tastingtable.com/968736/the-controversial-origins-of-the-sloppy-joe/
  • Blitz, Matt. “The True Story of Ernest Hemingway’s Favorite Bar. Food & Wine. June 22, 2017. https://www.foodandwine.com/travel/bars/ernest-hemingway-favorite-bar-true-story
  • Fix, John. “Papa Wrote Here.” The Miami News. May 12, 1962. https://www.newspapers.com/image/302005791/?terms=sloppy%20joe&match=1
  • “Hot Brown Sandwich History and Recipe.” What’s Cooking America. https://whatscookingamerica.net/history/sandwiches/hotbrownsandwich.htm
  • “The Brown Hotel.” Historic Hotels of America. https://www.historichotels.org/us/hotels-resorts/the-brown-hotel/history.php#:~:text=In%20the%20early%201980s%2C%20the,obtained%20the%20building%20in%202006.
  • “J. Graham Brown.” The Courier-Journal. August 8, 1927. https://www.newspapers.com/image/107676260/?terms=%22james%20graham%20brown%22&match=1
  • Kral, George. “How the Gooey, Cheesy Hot Brown Became a Kentucky Icon.” Eater. Jan. 3, 2019. https://www.eater.com/2019/1/3/18165719/kentucky-hot-brown-history-recipe-brown-hotel-louisville
  • “LOUISVILLE’S CULINARY ICON, THE HOT BROWN.” The Brown Hotel. https://www.brownhotel.com/dining/hot-brown
  • Manoff, Arnold. “Reuben and His Restaurant: The Lore of a Sandwich.” Federal Writers Project. 1938. https://www.loc.gov/item/wpalh001447/
  • Martinelli, Katherine. “True to Its Design, the Origin of the Reuben Sandwich Is Messy, Too.” Eat This, Not That! January 16, 2019. https://www.eatthis.com/reuben-sandwich-origin/
  • Matte, Lisa Curran. “The Hotly Contested Origin Of The Reuben Sandwich.” Tasting Table. Nov. 13, 2022. https://www.tastingtable.com/1095929/the-hotly-contested-origin-of-the-reuben-sandwich
  • Monaco, Emily. “The Untold Truth of Sloppy Joes.” Mashed. March 28, 2023. https://www.mashed.com/270915/the-untold-truth-of-sloppy-joes/
  • “National Sloppy Joe Day.” National Day Calendar. https://www.nationaldaycalendar.com/national-day/national-sloppy-joe-day-march-18
  • Ngo, Hope. “What Is Béchamel Sauce And What Is It Used For?” Mashed. June 2, 2021. https://www.mashed.com/413609/what-is-bechamel-sauce-and-what-is-it-used-for/
  • “Pizza Sauce Brings Italian Food to Your Table.” The Sacramento Bee. Dec. 16, 1970. https://www.newspapers.com/image/619758051/?terms=sloppy%20joe&match=1
  • “Philanthropist J. Graham Brown Dies.” The Courier-Journal. March 31, 1969. https://www.newspapers.com/image/109504942/?terms=%22james%20graham%20brown%22&match=1
  • Ramsey, Sarah. “The History of the Kentucky Hot Brown Sandwich.” Wide Open Country. July 19, 2019. https://www.wideopencountry.com/the-history-of-the-kentucky-hot-brown-sandwich/
  • Ramsey, Sarah “Where did the Sloppy Joe come from?” Wide Open Country. May 19, 2020. https://www.wideopencountry.com/sloppy-joe/
  • Scotti, Ippolita Douglas. “Was bechamelle really French, or an ancient Florentine sauce?” Flapper Press. March 6, 2019. https://www.flapperpress.com/post/was-bechamelle-really-french-or-an-ancient-florentine-sauce
  • Senyei, Kelly. “Inside the Home of the Hot Brown Sandwich.” Epicurious. April 4, 2013. https://www.epicurious.com/expert-advice/hot-brown-sandwich-tips
  • Singer, Phyllis. “Sloppy joes have chapter in food history.” The Courier. June 19, 1992. https://www.newspapers.com/image/359626043/?terms=sloppy%20joe&match=1
  • “Sloppy Joe’s Cocktails Manual.” 1932. Havana, Cuba. Accessed online: https://euvs-vintage-cocktail-books.cld.bz/1932-Sloppy-Joe-s/II
  • “Sloppy Joe History: The Origins of this Iconic Comfort Food.” Blue Apron. https://blog.blueapron.com/a-history-of-the-sloppy-jo/#:~:text=The%20Sloppy%20Joe's%20history%2C%20however,and%20the%20sandwich's%20official%20name.
  • Taliaferro, Georgianna. “Sloppy Joe’s: From Behind the Bar.” The Virginian-Pilot. March 12, 1950. https://www.newspapers.com/image/845602519/?terms=sloppy%20joe&match=1
  • Town Hall Delicatessen. https://townhalldeli.com/
  • Valdes, Rosa Tania. “Once Havana's most famous bar, Sloppy Joe's reopens after 50 years.” Reuters. April 12, 2013. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-cuba-sloppyjoes-idUSBRE93B18620130412/
  • “Was the Reuben Sandwich invented in Omaha?” History Nebraska. https://history.nebraska.gov/was-the-
Mark as Played

Stuff You Missed in History Class News

Advertise With Us

Follow Us On

Hosts And Creators

Tracy V. Wilson

Tracy V. Wilson

Holly Frey

Holly Frey

Show Links

AboutStoreRSS

Popular Podcasts

Death, Sex & Money

Death, Sex & Money

Anna Sale explores the big questions and hard choices that are often left out of polite conversation.

Stuff You Should Know

Stuff You Should Know

If you've ever wanted to know about champagne, satanism, the Stonewall Uprising, chaos theory, LSD, El Nino, true crime and Rosa Parks, then look no further. Josh and Chuck have you covered.

Music, radio and podcasts, all free. Listen online or download the iHeart App.

Connect

© 2024 iHeartMedia, Inc.